挑战

挑战

应用程序格局正呈爆炸式发展,未来几年,应用程序工作负载会从数亿增加到数十亿。许多新的应用程序正通过自动化流程得以构建并发布,自动化流程有望加速实现价值,并更快更安全地实现更新和改善。

然而,这些应用程序仍然需要一系列应用程序服务,例如负载均衡、Web 应用程序防火墙和 Bot 检测与缓解。网络运营 (NetOps) 和安全运营 (SecOps) 团队拥有提高应用程序安全性和用户体验的技术和经验,但是这些服务需要作为自动化部署流程的一部分注入。而对于许多组织而言,目前情况并非如此,即使是那些采用 DevOps 方法运营的组织亦然。

如何确保您开发和部署的每个应用程序都能得到适当应用程序交付和安全服务的支持?

RELATED CONTENT
下载解决方案指南以获取全部详情
获取指南
解决方案

解决方案

NetOps 和 SecOps 团队必须摆脱手动实施应用程序交付和安全服务,并将接口和自动化构建到他们的服务基础结构中。

在实际操作层面,这些运营团队可以通过一系列工具和实用工具公开其有价值的服务,这些工具和实用工具将应用程序交付控制器(如 BIG-IP 平台)嵌入到 DevOps 团队正在使用的自动化框架或平台中。

F5 自动化工具链产品系列包含基础自动化和编排构建程序块,借此可以轻松将 BIG-IP 应用程序服务集成至 CI/CD 工具链等常见的自动化模式。

RELATED CONTENT
在自动化比拼中,NetOps 与 DevOps 不相上下。
浏览博客
部署全新应用程序服务

部署全新应用程序服务

根据您的部署场景,您可能仅需要自动化工具链的部分组件。例如,拥有现有多租户 BIG-IP 平台的客户可能需要创建新的应用程序服务并监控配置,因此他们应当专注于应用程序服务 3 扩展和遥测流式传输扩展。

应用程序服务 3 扩展 >

应用程序服务 3 (AS3) 扩展提供一种简单一致的方式,以通过声明性 REST API 在 BIG-IP 平台上实现第 4-7 层的应用程序服务部署的自动化。AS3 使用表现为 JSON 文档的定义完善的对象模型。通过声明性接口,可以将 F5 应用程序服务部署当成既简单又可靠的代码进行管理。

AS3 扩展摄取并分析声明,并进行适当的 iControl API 调用,以在目标 BIG-IP 实例上创建期望的结束状态。该扩展可以在 BIG-IP 实例上或通过 AS3 容器(一款运行 AS3 扩展的独立容器/VM)运行,然后对 BIG-IP 实例进行外部 API 调用。

遥测流式传输扩展 >

遥测流式传输扩展提供声明性接口,以将应用程序的流式传输、安全性以及 BIG-IP 平台生成之网络遥测统计资料和事件配置至第三方使用者,诸如:

  • Splunk
  • Azure Log Analytics
  • AWS CloudWatch
  • AWS S3
  • Graphite

与自动化工具链系列的其他成员一样,利用简单一致的 JSON 架构通过声明性接口对配置进行管理。

组件

组件

如果您的部署场景需要新的 BIG-IP 实例以进行按需启动,您可以使用 F5 提供的云模板和声明性载入扩展,以启动和配置 BIG-IP 平台。

云模板 >

云模板使用公有云和私有云的部署自动化功能预配和启动 BIG-IP 虚拟设备。F5 目前针对下列云提供受支持的模板:

公有云

私有云

F5 积极扩展其云模板,以涵盖更广泛的部署场景。如果您有建议或请求,请通过相关的 github 存储库提交问题或(最好是)拉取请求。

遥测流式传输扩展 >

遥测流式传输扩展提供声明性接口,以将应用程序的流式传输、安全性以及 BIG-IP 平台生成之网络遥测统计资料和事件配置至第三方使用者,诸如:

  • Splunk
  • Azure Log Analytics
  • AWS CloudWatch
  • AWS S3
  • Graphite

与自动化工具链系列的其他成员一样,利用简单一致的 JSON 架构通过声明性接口对配置进行管理。

声明性载入扩展 >

借助声明性载入扩展,F5 BIG-IP 平台在初始启动后,可以轻松达到系统就绪状态,便于为应用程序部署安全性和流量管理。如果您正在使用多个 BIG-IP 系统,简单的接口可支持您配置系统设置(诸如许可和预配置)、网络设置(诸如 VLAN 和 Self IP)以及群集化设置。

声明性载入扩展使用与 AS3 架构一致的 JSON 架构,并具有类似的架构。该扩展作为独立于 TMOS 的 RPM 提供,其安装在新启动的 BIG-IP 上,作为载入阶段的第一步。载入流程完成后,您就可以利用任何所选的任何自动化(或手动)流程来部署应用程序服务。

结论

结论

部署应用程序时如果没有适当的安全性或应用程序交付服务,则会引入风险,同时维持现有的工作实践也会伴生不兼容的延迟和运营成本。

应用程序应当在正确应用程序到位的情况下进行构建、测试和部署。Ops 团队能够并且应当通过接口公开这些服务,方便其应用程序团队使用这些服务。

F5 自动化工具链提供了一套工具,将强大的 BIG-IP 平台嵌入到一系列自动化部署场景中。

下载解决方案指南以获取全部详情 >

资源

当然,在当今的 IT 格局中没有一劳永逸的情况。幸运的是,有若干额外的自动化接口是可行的,包括集成至容器管理平台和自动化工具。

实现 F5 应用程序服务自动化:实践指南中进一步了解适合您的选项。

CHALLENGE

CHALLENGE

The application landscape is exploding with application workloads growing from the hundreds of millions to the billions in the coming years. Many new apps are being built and released through automated processes that promise to both speed up time to value and make updates and improvements faster and safer.

However, these apps still need a rage of application services, such as load balancing, web application firewalling, and bot detection and mitigation. Network operations (NetOps) and security operations (SecOps) teams have the technology and experience to enhance application security and user experience, but these services need to be injected as part of the automated deployment process. And that’s not currently the case for many organizations, even those operating under a DevOps methodology.

How do you ensure that every app you develop and deploy is supported with the appropriate application delivery and security services? 

RELATED CONTENT
Download the solution guide to get all the details
Get the guide
SOLUTION

SOLUTION

NetOps and SecOps teams must pivot away from manually implementing application delivery and security services and build interfaces and automation into their service infrastructure.

At a practical level, these operations teams can expose their valuable services through a series of tools and utilities that plug an Application Delivery Controller like the BIG-IP platform into the automation frameworks or platforms DevOps teams are using.

The F5 Automation Toolchain product family comprises the fundamental automation and orchestration building blocks that make it easy to integrate BIG-IP application services into common automation patterns such as CI/CD toolchains.

RELATED CONTENT
NetOps is almost meeting DevOps in the automation race.
Read the blog
DEPLOY NEW APP SERVICES

DEPLOY NEW APP SERVICES

Depending on your deployment scenario, you might only need some of the components of the Automation Toolchain. For example, customers with existing, multitenant BIG-IP platforms might need to create new application service and monitoring configurations—so they should focus on the Application Services 3 Extension and the Telemetry Streaming Extension.

Application Services 3 Extension >

The Application Services 3 (AS3) Extension provides a simple and consistent way to automate layer 4–7 application services deployment on the BIG-IP platform via a declarative REST API. AS3 uses a well-defined object model represented as a JSON document. The declarative interface makes managing F5 application services deployments as code both simple and reliable.

The AS3 Extension ingests and analyzes the declarations and makes the appropriate iControl API calls to create the desired end state on the target BIG-IP instance. The extension can run either on the BIG-IP instance or via AS3 container, a separate container/VM that runs the AS3 Extension, and then makes external API calls to the BIG-IP instance. 

Telemetry Streaming Extension >

The Telemetry Streaming Extension provides a declarative interface to configure the streaming of application, security, and network telemetry statistics and events generated by the BIG-IP platform to third-party consumers such as:

  • Splunk
  • Azure Log Analytics
  • AWS CloudWatch
  • AWS S3
  • Graphite

As with the other members of the Automation Toolchain family, configuration is managed through a declarative interface using a simple, consistent JSON schema. 

COMPONENTS

COMPONENTS

If your deployment scenario requires new BIG-IP instances to be spun up on demand, you can use F5-provided cloud templates and the Declarative Onboarding Extension to launch and configure the BIG-IP platform.

Cloud templates >

Cloud templates use the deployment automation functions of public and private clouds to provision and boot BIG-IP virtual appliances. F5 currently offers supported templates for the following clouds:

Public clouds

Private clouds

F5 is actively expanding its cloud templates to cover a wider range of deployment scenarios. If you have suggestions or requests, please submit issues or (even better) pull requests via the relevant github repository.

Declarative Onboarding Extension >

The Declarative Onboarding Extension makes it easy to take an F5 BIG-IP platform from post-initial boot to a system ready to deploy security and traffic management for applications. The simple interface enables you to configure system settings such as licensing and provisioning, network settings such as VLANs and self IPs, and clustering settings if you are using more than one BIG-IP system.

The Declarative Onboarding Extension uses a JSON schema consistent with the AS3 schema and has a similar architecture. The extension is supplied as a TMOS-independent RPM that is installed on a newly booted BIG-IP as the first step in the onboarding phase. Once the onboarding process has completed, you can deploy application services using whatever automated (or manual) process you select. 

CONCLUSION

CONCLUSION

Deploying applications without adequate security or application delivery services introduces risk, while maintaining existing working practices comes with incompatible latency and operational cost.

Applications should be built, tested, and deployed with the right application services in place. Ops teams can and should expose these services via interfaces that make it easy for their application teams to consume them.

The F5 Automation Toolchain offers a suite of tools that plug the powerful BIG-IP platform into a range of automation deployment scenarios.

Download the solution guide to get all the details >

RESOURCE

Of course, one size never fits all in today’s IT landscape. Fortunately, there are a number of additional automation interfaces possible, including integration into container management platforms and automation tools.

Learn more about your options in Automating F5 Application Services: A Practical Guide.