缓解加密威胁,确保安全加密

简介

全球几乎所有组织都在向数字化转型。这种转型由收集和传输敏感数据(包括用户数据、客户数据、患者数据和企业数据)的需求所驱动。简言之,我们今天的生活围绕着数据展开。因此,保护数据私密与安全至关重要。

应用是数据的门户。因此无论应用位于何处,对于各行各业而言,保护应用安全对组织安全业务都至关重要。

敏感数据的安全和隐私举足轻重,而当下人们也正在制定新的政府规章制度,确保组织内部的数据安全与隐私。而且无论组织或所收集的数据是否位于管辖范围内,这些规章制度都统一适用。

欧盟 (EU)《通用数据保护条例》(GDPR) 要求在欧盟内运营的组织需事先获得个人同意,才能合法收集个人数据,并对其加以保护。在美国,新的《加州消费者保护法》(CCPA) 效仿 GDPR 的许多保护条例,被其他州评为消费者隐私保护立法的典范。

这些规章制度旨在确保透明度,让客户能够更好地掌控个人数据以及数据收集后的处理方式。如果组织发生安全漏洞,敏感数据丢失或被盗、遭滥用或利用,违规组织可能会受到重罚。

加密至少被视为保护敏感信息的最佳做法。事实上,未能利用加密保护数据会被视为疏忽大意。但加密也有两面性。

加密优势

有多种方法可确保数据安全和隐私,而加密则是最佳做法。

如今,大部分流量均经过加密。几乎所有的网站都采用加密技术。Microsoft Office 365 和 Google G Suite 等在线办公应用、基于云的应用、软件即服务 (SaaS) 应用和社交网络呈快速增长和广泛采用势头,极大推动了加密流量的持续增长。

加密数据对于确保和保持数据的隐私和完整性具有重要作用。

加密弊端

但加密也有一项弊端,即攻击者已经意识到,加密流量是向毫无戒备的用户及其组织发送恶意软件和其他恶意有效负载的绝佳方式,同时也是从用户和组织手中窃取被盗数据的绝佳方式。

至少,防御隐藏在加密流量中的威胁需要组织对传入和传出的加密流量具有可见性。通过查看和检测传入的加密流量不仅可减少安全盲点,同时还能缓解隐藏在加密流量中的恶意软件风险,以及能导致敏感数据泄露的漏洞。

对出站加密流量的可见性同样至关重要,因为这些流量可以掩盖被盗数据外泄。同时还可以掩盖已根植于网络或云环境的恶意软件向命令和控制 (CnC) 服务器发起的通信,其可以触发攻击或试图下载并将现有恶意软件扩展为多层次、多线程攻击。

攻击者还可以下载其他恶意软件并在组织内部横向传播,甚至向组织外部传播,以攻击客户或供应链,从而感染更多的设备和服务器,并窃取更多的信息和数据。

为何 SSL 可视化不足

SSL 可视化仅是开始,企业需要进一步控制加密和解密流量,但不能以牺牲安全解决方案的功能为代价。

许多企业不惜投入巨资打造安全解决方案,选择高价值功能来执行特定任务,如查杀恶意软件、沙盒化、应用和网络属性拒绝列表。虽然安全解决方案可能包含本地解密功能,但解密和加密并非其核心目的或重点。

如果没有专门的解决方案来执行大规模解密,SSL 可视化则要求大多数企业通过端到端安全服务链对加密流量进行路由。本质上,加密流量必须在整个安全堆栈中通过重复、冗余的解密/检查/再加密过程的静态菊花链。

这个过程不仅效率低下,还会消耗宝贵的时间和资源,增加延迟,从而影响用户体验。此外,每个菊花链结构的安全设备均需要统一扩展,以满足总的加密流量容量,而这很容易导致过度订阅,就意味着安全服务的成本增加。

SSLO Fips HSM
F5 SSL Orchestrator 支持硬件安全模块 (HSM) 的各种选项。

F5 SSL Orchestrator 如何提供帮助

F5 SSL Orchestrator确保对加密的流量进行解密,通过适当的安全控件进行检查,然后重新加密,以提供对加密流量的可视化,从而减轻隐患的风险。

SSL Orchestrator 专注于加强 SSL/TLS 基础架构,能够最大限度地提高现有安全投资的成效。它通过策略动态链接安全服务和引导解密流量,将基于上下文的情报应用于加密流量。

SSL Orchestrator 在整个安全基架构中集中管理和分布最新的加密技术。集中管理证书和密钥,同时提供强大的密码管理和控制。

此外,SSL Orchestrator 还可以为下一代加密协议的统一检测搭建单一平台,确保安全解决方案以最高效率运行,并通过 F5 的负载均衡和扩展功能,以高可用性进行扩展。并且 SSL Orchestrator 能独立监控每个安全服务的运行状况。

作为所有加密事务的中心点,SSL Orchestrator 必须确保其物理环境或虚拟环境均支持最强有力且严格的政府与行业安全和隐私标准。

密钥和安全参数保护

提供 SSL 可视化的关键部分是需要强大的密钥管理 (PKI) 基础架构。密钥管理和密钥保护及其恰当使用往往与监管要求相关联,例如,联邦信息处理标准 140.2 (FIPS 140-2)、通用标准、国际标准化组织 (ISO) 制定的标准以及其他区域或垂直行业特定认证。

虽然 FIPS 140-2 由美国国家标准与技术研究所 (NIST) 制定,但却适用且应用于全球许多高度监管的市场,为加密技术的使用和实施验证提供指导。

FIPS 140-2 有多个不同的级别,与法规、风险和数据敏感性相映射。在 SSL 可视化部署中,FIPS 140-2 等级 3 通常用于在硬件、防篡改的物理外壳中保护签名密钥,被称为硬件安全模块 (HSM)。HSM 包括密钥清零、启动完整性检查和防止未经授权提取密钥的控制。HSM 不仅能增强密钥安全性,还能帮助简化证书管理,降低合规成本。

F5 提供最广泛的 FIPS 合规平台,包括多个 HSM 选项,既可以在机内,也可以通过公钥加密标准 #11 (PKCS#11) 部署至网络 HSM。根据所选的 SSL Orchestrator 许可和型号,有诸多 FIPS 140-2 级别可供选择,包括一系列的价格选项,以确保任何企业(无论规模大小)都能遵守策略。

那么为何选择 SSL Orchestrator?

F5 SSL Orchestrator 提供对加密流量前所未有的整体可见性,缓解与恶意软件和其他入站加密流量掩盖的恶意威胁相关的风险。此外,SSL Orchestrator 还能阻止被盗数据外泄、CnC 通信,以及在出站加密流量中下载其他恶意软件和恶意有效负载。

而且,SSL Orchestrator 还可通过集中解密和再加密功能、动态服务链和智能流量引导,实现大规模执行高价值的安全功能,安全卸载 CPU 密集型解密/加密,从而更加轻松地实现安全投资最大化。

这些行动不仅可以阻止安全盲点和隐藏威胁,还可以释放现有的安全解决方案,以最优方式执行其主要功能:提供威胁防护、防止数据泄露、沙盒化和其他安全相关服务。

SSL Orchestrator 有多个许可选项,专为中小型企业 (SMB)、现代化企业和云量身打造。F5 拥有多个平台选项,包括虚拟版本 (VE),以及中高端设备,具有可应对加密流量变化以及密码和协议变化的解决方案,包括 TLS 1.3、未来物联网设备以及最终的后量子密码方案。

Mitigating Encrypted Threats and Ensuring Secure Encryption

Introduction

Nearly every organization worldwide is moving toward digital transformation. A transformation that’s driven by the need to collect and transmit sensitive data—user data, customer data, patient data, and corporate data. In short, our lives today revolve around data. Keeping it private and secure is essential.

Applications are the gateways to data. So, securing apps, wherever they reside, is critical to an organization’s security and their business, regardless of industry.

The security and privacy of sensitive data is so important that new governmental rules and regulations are being created to ensure data security and privacy within organizations. And those rules apply regardless of whether the organization or the data collected is located within the borders of the governing entity or not.

The European Union’s (EUs) General Data Protection Regulation (GDPR) requires organizations operating within the EU to make sure personal data is collected legally, with the prior approval of the individual, and it must be protected. In the U.S., the new California Consumer Protection Act (CCPA) mirrors many of the GDPR protections and is being evaluated by other states as a model for consumer privacy protection legislation.

These rules and regulations are designed to create transparency and give customers more control over their personal data and how it’s handled after it’s collected. If an organization experiences a security breach and sensitive data is lost or stolen, misused or exploited, the breached organization may be heavily fined.

Encryption is considered a best practice, at minimum, for protecting sensitive information. In fact, failure to protect data using encryption is considered negligent.  However, encryption has two sides.

Encryption: The Pros

There are several ways to ensure the security and privacy of data, but the best way is encryption.

Most traffic today is encrypted. Nearly all web sites use encryption. The fast growth and continued adoption of online productivity apps like Microsoft Office 365 and Google G Suite, cloud-based applications, software-as-a-service (SaaS) apps, and social networks have helped drive the continued growth of encrypted traffic.

Encrypting data is great for ensuring and maintaining its privacy and integrity.

Encryption: The Cons

However, there’s a dangerous downside to encryption: attackers have realized encrypted traffic is an excellent way of delivering malware and other malicious payloads to unsuspecting users and their organizations, as well as a great way to extract stolen data from users and organizations.

At a minimum, ensuring against threats hidden in encrypted traffic requires that organizations have visibility into both incoming and outgoing encrypted traffic. Visibility into and inspection of encrypted incoming traffic reduces security blind spots. It also mitigates the risk of malware concealed within encrypted traffic and the vulnerabilities that lead to breaches of sensitive data.

Visibility into encrypted outbound traffic is also important because that traffic can mask exfiltration of stolen data. It can also mask communications launched by malware already entrenched within a network or cloud environment to command-and-control (CnC) servers that can trigger attacks or attempt to download and extend existing malicious software into a multi-tier, multi-threaded attack.

Attackers can also download additional malware and move laterally within an organization or even extend beyond the original organization to attack their customers or supply chain, infecting more devices and servers and stealing more information and data.

Why SSL Visibility Isn’t Enough

SSL visibility is only the start, though. Organizations need better control over both encrypted and decrypted traffic—but not at the expense of their security solution’s capabilities.

Many organizations invest significantly in their security solutions, selecting high-value features to perform specific functions like exploding malware, sandboxing, and blacklisting applications and web properties—just to name a few.  While security solutions may include native decryption capabilities, decryption and encryption aren’t their core purpose or focus.

Without a dedicated solution designed to perform decryption at scale, SSL visibility requires that encrypted traffic be routed by most enterprises through an end-to-end chain of security services. In essence, it must go through the static daisy chain of a repetitive, redundant, process of decrypt/inspect/re-encrypt across the entire security stack.

This process isn’t only inefficient, it also consumes precious time and resources. It can also add latency, impacting user experience. Plus, each of the security devices daisy-chained together will need to scale uniformly to meet the total encrypted traffic capacity, which can easily lead to over-subscription. And that means increased costs for security services.

SSLO Fips HSM
F5 SSL Orchestrator supports various options for Hardware Security Modules (HSMs).

How F5 SSL Orchestrator Can Help

F5 SSL Orchestrator ensures encrypted traffic is decrypted, inspected by the appropriate security controls, and then re-encrypted, delivering visibility into encrypted traffic, mitigating the risk of concealed threats.

Dedicated to enhancing SSL/TLS infrastructure, SSL Orchestrator also maximizes the effectiveness of existing security investments. It dynamically chains security services and steers decrypted traffic via policy, applying context-based intelligence to encrypted traffic.

SSL Orchestrator centrally manages and distributes the latest encryption technologies across the entire security infrastructure. It centralizes certificates and key management while providing robust cipher management and control.

It also delivers a single platform for the unified inspection of next-generation encryption protocols. SSL Orchestrator ensures security solutions are operating at peak efficiency and can scale with high availability via F5’s load balancing and scaling capabilities. And it independently monitors the health of each security service.

As a central point for all things encryption, SSL Orchestrator must ensure that its environment, whether physical or virtual, supports the most stringent and robust government and industry standards for security and privacy.

Key and Security Parameter Protection

A key part of providing SSL visibility requires a robust key management (PKI) infrastructure.  Key management and key protection, as well as their proper use, are often associated with regulatory mandates—for example, the Federal Information Processing Standard 140.2 (FIPS 140-2), Common Criteria, standards from the International Organization for Standardization (ISO), and other regional or vertical-specific certifications.

FIPS 140-2, despite being a U.S. National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST) standard, can be found in, and is applied to, many highly-regulated markets worldwide and provides guidance for the use of crypto and implementation validation.

There are several different Levels of FIPS 140-2 that map to regulations, risk, and sensitivity of data. In SSL visibility deployments, FIPS 140-2 Level 3 is often required to protect the signing key in a hardware, tamper-resistant physical enclosure, referred to as a Hardware Security Module (HSM). An HSM will include key zeroization, startup integrity checks, and controls for preventing unauthorized key extraction. HSMs deliver more than enhanced key security; they can also help simplify certificate management and reduce compliance costs.

F5 provides the broadest range of FIPS-compliant platforms, including several HSM options, both on box and via Public Key Cryptography Standards #11 (PKCS #11) to network HSMs.  Depending on the SSL Orchestrator license and model selected, there are a number of FIPS 140-2 levels available, including a range of price options to make sure policy adherence is possible for any organization, regardless of size.

So, Why SSL Orchestrator?

F5 SSL Orchestrator delivers unparalleled, holistic visibility into encrypted traffic, mitigating risks associated with malware and other malicious threats masked by inbound encrypted traffic. SSL Orchestrator also stops stolen data exfiltration, CnC communications, and the downloading of additional malware and malevolent payloads in outbound encrypted traffic.

And, SSL Orchestrator, through its centralized decrypt and re-encrypt function and dynamic service chains and intelligent traffic steering, enables high-value security features to perform at scale—securely offloading CPU-intensive decryption/encryption. That makes it easier to maximize security investments.

These actions not only stop security blind spots and hidden threats, but also free existing security solutions to optimally perform their primary functions: delivering threat protection, preventing data leakage, sandboxing, and other relevant security services.

SSL Orchestrator has several licensing options designed for small- and medium-sized business (SMB), modern enterprises, and the cloud.  With several platform options, including Virtual Editions (VEs), as well as mid-tier to high-end appliances, F5 has solutions to meet the changes in encrypted traffic and the changes to ciphers and protocols, including TLS 1.3, tomorrow’s IoT devices and eventually post-quantum cipher schemes.

Connect with F5

F5 Labs

The latest in application threat intelligence.

DevCentral

The F5 community for discussion forums and expert articles.

F5 Newsroom

News, F5 blogs, and more.