在不同的云端管理应用

是时候与云原生安全和性能服务分道扬镳了吗?

相关内容

Puppet DevOps 状态报告 ›

深入了解将安全集成到软件交付生命周期中的相关数据。

阅读报告 ›

Everybody changes, and sometimes relationships have to change to. We’re talking, of course, about your relationship with your cloud provider’s native application services for security and performance. Services which are, admittedly, perfectly fine—until you realize you need more.

那么,哪些迹象表明云原生安全和性能服务已经跟不上您的发展节奏?

在我们开始深入探讨之前,有必要先回忆一下究竟是哪些特质吸引您开始使用原生云服务。可能是因为这些服务更容易实施,而且实践中非常可靠。

那么您什么时候应该开始考虑更强大的应用服务呢?当出现了以下三种基本场景时,您可能就需要考虑一下突破云服务提供商现有的基本服务:

  1. 更先进的威胁防护。云原生安全措施通常应用范围非常广泛,但又非常简单,主要依赖于模式匹配,因此恶意攻击者有近乎不受限制的能力对其进行测试,这可能会引发巨大的问题。即使您的云服务提供商为您提供了基本材料来打造真正强大的解决方案(即仅限于其生态系统内部),您又是否真的愿意耗费时间去发掘如何将其整合到一起?您需要快速便捷地实施一套完整服务的能力,并且能够准确契合您的需求,即使当您的需求发生了变化。

    “更先进的”防护并不仅仅意味着能够发现更先进的威胁,而是应当指能够以更先进的方式发现威胁。这种方式还要能为您节省成本。正如我们采用了行为分析技术(而不仅仅是基本的模式匹配)对流入的流量进行分析,从而在明显的机器人流量进入网络之前就能将其过滤掉。流量和连接的成本会迅速叠加,您越早过滤掉多余的内容,就可以取得更好的结果。

    浏览博客:转换 DevOps 的安全措施就意味着转换思维模式 ›

  2. 一致性。有很多原因可以解释您为什么要在应用服务中寻求更好的一致性。在当今的环境下,收购可能是最重要的原因之一;如果不是您被其他公司收购,就有可能是您的公司要收购其他公司。无论是哪种情况,如果您的目标是确保所有新应用都能够符合您的公司标准,那么您很快就会意识到拥有一个简单易用、丰富全面的接口,对所有应用采用安全和性能服务所具有的价值。

    同样的道理也适用于当您需要一致地应用企业标准时,无论您处理的是否为新收购的资产。定义并维护高水平的应用程序安全和性能对于符合监管要求(GDPR 等)或应对各条线内外部审计的能力具有重要意义。

  3. 可移植性。从许多角度来说,一致性和可移植性是一枚硬币的两面。当您使用一套统一的工具来一致地采用应用服务时,这些服务自然就会更具可移植性。在当今的多云环境中,企业不断调整云端应用的运行位置和方式,但这并不意味着您需要不停地调整服务来为应用提供支持。最好的方式是拥有一套能够适用于所有私有云和公有云的服务,并且无论应用位于何处,都可以提供一致级别的安全性和性能。

F5 最近发布的应用服务状态报告显示,大部分企业都根据各个应用最适合的环境来决定是否迁移到云端。这种以应用为先的方法论是 90% 的受调查对象在多个云端部署背后的主要驱动因素。

当下的现状该何去何从

现在您觉得是时候与您应用的原生云服务分道扬镳了吗?如果是,那么接下来您要寻找的有:

  • 一款久经考验的解决方案,通过精心设计和预先配置满足严苛的安全要求

  • 更先进的服务,以及在安全层内轻松集成第三方供应商的能力

  • 在云端无处不在,降低管理成本和应用时间,并增加可复制性

  • 通过模板轻松部署

探索 F5 如何帮助您获得您所需的强大应用服务,像公有云服务一般简单、灵活,从而更加快捷、安全地部署,并让部署更顺畅。F5 是应用服务行业领军企业,拥有 20 年以上保护和强化企业应用的经验。我们提供了最广泛的性能和安全服务,兼具企业级应用所需的深度,甚至能满足多云环境。
 

探索更多

博客

致 Devops 人员:如果您最想从一个角度了解 F5,那么请务必阅读本文

在 DevOps 的世界中,根本没有人工处理和雪花型配置的空间。

视频

将 DevOps 和 SecOps 集成到 CI/CD 管道中

是时候制止在还没有集成流量管理和安全服务的情况下就将应用投放市场了。

解决方案

简化多云应用管理

是时候为您的企业和应用实施一套最适合的策略管理计划了。让 F5 帮助您达成目标。

Managing apps across clouds

Is it time to break up with cloud-native security and performance services?

RELATED CONTENT

The Puppet State of DevOps Report ›

Get an in-depth look at the data on integrating security into the software delivery lifecycle.

Read the report ›

Everybody changes, and sometimes relationships have to come to an end. But you can’t let it get you down. You just have to move on. And besides, the next one will be even better! (And hopefully it’ll last forever this time.) We’re talking, of course, about your relationship with your cloud provider’s native application services for security and performance. Services which are, admittedly, perfectly fine—until they're not.

So, what are the signs that you’ve outgrown those cloud-native security and performance services?

Before we go there, it’s worth remembering what attracted you to native cloud services to start with. Probably, it was because those services were easy to implement and are actually pretty reliable.

So when should you consider more robust application services? Here are three essential scenarios when you might need to go beyond the basics that are offered by your cloud provider:

  1. More advanced threat protection. Cloud-native security is usually fairly broad, but it’s also kept pretty simple and relies mostly on pattern matching—which can be problematic in that it gives bad actors an almost unlimited ability to test against it. And even when your cloud provider does offer the building blocks to create a truly robust solution (within just their ecosystem, that is), do you really want to spend the time figuring out how to put it all together? You need the ability to quickly and easily implement a comprehensive set of services suited precisely to your needs, even as those needs change.

    “More advanced” protection doesn’t just mean capable of finding more advanced threats; it should also mean capable of finding those threats in more advanced ways. Ways that save you money. Like when we apply behavioral analysis (not just basic pattern matching) to incoming traffic in order to filter out the obvious bot traffic before it even crosses your network. Traffic and connection costs add up quickly enough as it is; the sooner you can filter out the unwanted stuff, the better.

    Read the blog: Shifting Security in DevOps Means Shifting Mindsets ›

  2. Consistency. There are a lot of reasons why you might be looking for greater consistency from your application services. Acquisitions are a big one these days; if you haven’t been bought up by someone else, chances are your company is the one doing the buying up. Either way, when you’re tasked with ensuring all the new applications live up to your corporate standards, you quickly see the value of having one easy-to-use, comprehensive interface to apply security and performance services across all your apps.

    The same goes for any time you need to consistently apply corporate standards, whether or not you’re dealing with newly acquired assets. Defining and maintaining high levels of application security and performance are critical to your ability to meet regulatory compliances (GDPR, anyone?) or to face internal or external audits of every stripe.

  3. Portability. Consistency and portability are, in many ways, two sides of the same coin. When you use a uniform set of tools to consistently apply application services, those services become much more portable. In today’s multi-cloud world, enterprises are constantly adjusting where and how their cloud apps are being served, but that doesn’t mean you should have to constantly adjust the services that support those apps. Better to have one set of services that work across all your private and public clouds and which can deliver a consistent level of security and performance no matter where an app resides.

F5’s recent State of Application Services Report shows that most orgs make cloud decisions based on what environment is best for each app. This app-first methodology is a driver behind the fact that 90% of survey respondents deploy across multiple clouds.

Where to Go from Here

So is it time to break up with your native cloud services for your apps? If so, here’s what to look for:

  • A tested solution, designed and preconfigured to meet stringent security requirements

  • More advanced services, and the ability to integrate third party vendors easily within the security layer

  • Ubiquity across clouds, lowering management costs and adoption times and increasing repeatability

  • Easy deployment through templates

Find out how F5 can help you get the robust application services you need that are as easy and agile as public cloud services, so you can deploy faster, more securely, and with less internal friction. F5 is the industry leader in application services, with more than 20 years of experience protecting and enhancing enterprise apps. We provide the broadest set of performance and security services with the depth needed for enterprise-level applications, even across multi-cloud environments.
 

DISCOVER MORE

Blog

People of Devops: if You Know One Thing About F5, Let It Be This

There’s no place in the DevOps world for manual processes and snowflake configurations.

Video

Integrating DevOps and SecOps into the CI/CD Pipeline

It’s time to stop apps from being released into market without integrated traffic management and security services.

Solution

Simplify multi-cloud application management

It’s time to implement a policy management strategy that fits your org and your apps. F5 can help.