Payment Card Industry Data Security Standard (PCI)

The Payment Card Industry (PCI) Data Security Standard was jointly developed by Visa and MasterCard in December 2004, to simplify compliance for merchants and payment processors. The PCI standard has 6 core areas and 12 requirements, covering a broad scope of best practices for perimeter security, data privacy, and layered security.

Any business that deals with credit card data -- whether they're processing, transmitting, or storing it -- needs to abide by the PCI standard or risk having their credit card transaction privileges revoked.

F5 products related to PCI:

F5 solutions related to PCI:

F5 resources related to PCI:

  • Achieving PCI Compliance Using F5 Products
  • Complying with PCI DSS Requirement 6.6

Connect with F5

F5 Labs

The latest in application threat intelligence.


The F5 community for discussion forums and expert articles.

F5 Newsroom

News, F5 blogs, and more.