通过容器原生应用服务消除应用交付延缓问题

容器化应用生命周期具有动态和临时性的特征,这些特征与传统的网络和安全策略无法很好地结合。但 F5 NGINX 找到了解决方案。


挑战:安全地为容器化应用提供支持

借助容器,您能够通过“一次编写,随处运行”的方式来开发云原生应用。但这并不会凭空出现。容器化的应用需要原生应用交付机制来实现最佳性能。坚守传统的静态、由 IT 管理的配置已完全无法跟上微服务容器升降级所需的灵活性,后者可能每分钟都在发生。

以下是您可以采用的解决方式

当您采用了基于微服务的解决方案时,您需要一套与更为动态的架构相一致的安全和性能解决方案。您应当以代码的形式管理应用服务,并将其集成到 CI/CD 工作流中。您需要将可靠的应用交付服务集成到容器平台管理平面中。

网络研讨会

了解 NGINX 入口控制程序(适用于 Kubernetes 版本 1.5.0)有哪些新功能


F5 能够提供哪些帮助

F5 NGINX 应用交付服务为容器环境进行了专门设计和优化,使其成为使用容器平台(如 Kubernetes 和 Red Hat OpenShift)时的理想之选。此外,NGINX 为容器和非容器环境进行的标准化降低了复杂性,确保了更优的一致性和可靠性。

 

NGINX Kubernetes 入口控制程序

作为 Kubernetes 的首选入口控制程序1,NGINX 入口控制程序为 NGINX 负载均衡程序提供了自动化配置,确保 Kubernetes 群集中的应用能够在不影响性能的情况下可靠、安全地交付。

NGINX OpenShift Router

NGINX OpenShift Router 为 Red Hat OpenShift 提供了先进的流量管理和安全服务,从而提高应用性能、灵活性和可靠性。

在以上架构中,我们演示了 NGINX 入口控制程序如何为容器化应用提供企业级的应用交付服务。


解决方案指南

挑战

各组织会使用 Kubernetes 或 RedHat OpenShift 等容器平台,并结合敏捷的开发方法来加速应用程序的开发和部署。

容器是用于开发云原生应用程序的基础性基础结构组成部分,因为其灵活性和便携性可让开发人员“一劳永逸”。容器减少了依赖项,并实现了组件层面的扩展,这是利用微服务实现应用程序现代化的关键。

容器化应用程序需要原生应用程序交付机制,以交付优化性能。开发人员和 DevOps 团队需要面向 Kubernetes 和 OpenShift 环境的云无关轻量应用程序交付解决方案。

但是只能通过 IT 部门更改静态配置的传统方法与敏捷的容器范例存在冲突,后者可能在几分钟内便可动态创建出新的微服务容器以满足需求高峰,或通过将旧容器简单替换成新容器进行升级。

如何确保您的应用程序服务部署能够跟上容器化环境中快速发布周期的速度?

相关内容
下载解决方案指南以获取全部详情
获取指南 ›

解决方案

您需要与容器平台管理平面集成的可靠应用程序交付服务。您可以借助 NGINX 为容器化应用程序提供最佳支持。NGINX 是 DockerHub 上最广泛接入和带有星标的应用程序,下载次数超过 10 亿。

根据 Cloud Native Computing Foundation(云原生计算基金会)的数据,NGINX 占有 64% 的市场份额,也是目前为止最受欢迎的 Kubernetes 入口控制器。NGINX 还支持 Red Hat OpenShift 环境,Red Hat OpenShift 是基于 Kubernetes 构建的一种容器应用程序平台。

相关内容
容器是多云战略的关键
浏览博客 ›

组件

利用下列 NGINX 组件,在容器化环境中交付一致且强大的多云应用程序服务。

面向 Kubernetes 的 NGINX 入口控制器 >

面向 Kubernetes 的 NGINX 入口控制器

DevOps 能够利用面向 Kubernetes 的 NGINX 入口控制器,提供对其 Kubernetes 环境的外部访问权限。这为 Kubernetes 应用程序提供了企业级交付服务,包括实时指标、会话永久性、主动运行状况检查和 JWT 验证。

NGINX Plus 版本还能授权用户执行无中断重新配置,确保一致的应用程序性能和资源使用。其构建和维护符合可支持的生产标准,另外,该版本还提供了一致性和稳定性,同时保留向后兼容性。 

面向 OpenShift 的 NGINX Plus 路由器 >

针对 OpenShift 的 NGINX Plus 路由器

针对 OpenShift 环境,NGINX 完全支持由 Open Shift 路由器资源定义的功能。

路由器相当于进入在 OpenShift 上运行之应用程序的所有外部请求的入口点,这使其成为平台最关键部分之一。NGINX 路由器通过 Template Router 软件在 OpenShift 中集成,此软件为与支持默认路由器实施相同的软件。

结论

无论其在哪运行,应用程序都能从 NGINX 提供的性能中获益。

借助面向 Kubernetes 和 OpenShift 环境设计的解决方案,动态容器平台中运行的应用程序可以通过容器管理系统原生的工具按需配置所需服务。 

资源

进一步阅读 NGINX 应用程序平台的未来,以及 F5 如何助力企业发展其应用程序以适应数字时代。

客户案例

LKQD Technologies 借助 NGINX Kubernetes 入口控制程序降低运营复杂性

立即开始

微服务

寻找最佳的微服务设计策略,了解如何开始将单一应用重构为微服务。

容器网络

获取本指南,探索 Docker 网络模式,了解 Kubernetes 如何处理容器网络。

云原生 DevOps

下载电子书,了解如何将行业标准的 DevOps 实践应用到云原生上下文中的 Kubernetes。

Eliminate application delivery slowdowns with container-native app services

Containerized application lifecycles are dynamic and transient—characteristics that do not mix well with traditional networking and security policies. F5 NGINX has a solution.


THE CHALLENGE? SUPPORTING CONTAINERIZED APPLICATIONS SECURELY

Leveraging containers enables you to develop cloud-native apps with a “write once, run anywhere” methodology. That doesn’t happen in a vacuum, though. Containerized applications need native application delivery mechanisms to deliver optimal performance. Sticking with the traditionally static, IT-managed configuration is at odds with the agility you need to keep up with the spinning up and down of microservices containers that can happen on a minute-by-minute basis.

HERE’S WHAT YOU CAN DO

When you employ a micro-services-based solution, you need app security and performance solutions that are aligned with that dynamic architecture. You should be able to manage your app services as code and integrate them into the CI/CD workflow. You need reliable application delivery services integrated with the container platform management plane.

Webinar

Find out what’s new in NGINX Ingress Controller for Kubernetes Release 1.5.0


HOW F5 CAN HELP

F5 NGINX application delivery services are designed and optimized for container environments, making it an ideal choice when leveraging container platforms such as Kubernetes and Red Hat OpenShift. Plus, standardizing on NGINX for both container and non-container environments reduces complexity and ensures greater consistency and reliability.

 

NGINX Kubernetes Ingress Controller

As the top ingress controller for Kubernetes1, NGINX Ingress Controller provides automated configuration for NGINX load balancers to ensure that applications in Kubernetes clusters are delivered reliably and securely without compromising performance.

NGINX OpenShift Router

NGINX OpenShift Router provides advanced traffic management and security services for Red Hat OpenShift that improve your application’s performance, resilience, and reliability.

In the architecture above, we demonstrate how NGINX Ingress Controller provides enterprise-grade application delivery services for containerized apps.


Solution guide

CHALLENGE

Organizations use container platforms such as Kubernetes or RedHat OpenShift in combination with agile development methodologies to speed up application development and deployment.

Containers are foundational infrastructure components for developing cloud-native applications as they enable flexibility and portability that allow developers to “write once, run anywhere.” Containers reduce dependencies and allow component-level scaling, which is key to modernizing applications using microservices.

Your containerized apps need native application delivery mechanisms to deliver optimal performance. Developers and DevOps teams need a cloud-agnostic lightweight application delivery solution for Kubernetes and OpenShift environments.

But a traditional approach with a static configuration changed only by IT conflicts with the agile container paradigm where new microservice containers might be created dynamically for just a few minutes to service a spike in demand or roll out an upgrade by simply replacing old containers with new ones.

How do you ensure that your app services deployments keep up with your rapid release cycles in containerized environments?

RELATED CONTENT
Download the solution guide to get all the details
Get the guide ›

SOLUTION

You need reliable application delivery services integrated with the container platform management plane. You can best support your containerized apps with NGINX, the most widely pulled and starred application on DockerHub, with more than 1 billion downloads.

And with 64% of the market, NGINX is also by far the most popular Kubernetes Ingress Controller, according to the Cloud Native Computing Foundation. NGINX also supports Red Hat OpenShift environments, a container application platform built on top of Kubernetes.

RELATED CONTENT
Containers are key to a multi-cloud strategy
Read the blog ›

COMPONENTS

To deliver consistent and powerful multi-cloud application services in containerized environments, leverage the following NGINX components. 

NGINX Ingress Controller for Kubernetes >

NGINX Ingress Controller for Kubernetes

DevOps can provide external access to their Kubernetes environments using the NGINX Ingress Controller for Kubernetes. This provides enterprise‑grade delivery services for Kubernetes applications including real-time metrics, session persistence, active health checks, and JWT validation.

The NGINX Plus version also empowers users to execute non-disruptive reconfiguration, which ensures consistent application performance and resource usage. It’s built and maintained to a supportable production standard, and it delivers consistency and stability—preserving backwards compatibility. 

NGINX Plus Router for OpenShift >

NGINX Plus Router for OpenShift

For OpenShift environments, NGINX fully supports features defined by the Open Shift Router resource.

The Router acts as the entry point for all external requests coming to applications running on OpenShift, which makes it one of the most critical parts of the platform. NGINX Router is integrated in OpenShift through the Template Router software—the same software that underpins the default Router implementation.

CONCLUSION

No matter where they run, applications can benefit from the performance that NGINX offers.

With solutions designed for Kubernetes and OpenShift environments, applications running in dynamic container platforms can get the services they need configured on demand—by tools native to the container management system. 

Resources

Read more about the future of the NGINX Application Platform and how F5 is helping businesses evolve their apps for the digital age.

CUSTOMER STORY

LKQD Technologies Reduces Operational Complexity with the NGINX Ingress Controller for Kubernetes

GET STARTED

Microservices

Find the best microservices design strategies and learn how to begin refactoring monolithic applications into microservices.

Container Networking

Get this guide to explore Docker networking modes and learn how Kubernetes approaches container networking.

Cloud Native DevOps

Download the eBook to learn how to apply industry-standard DevOps practices to Kubernetes in a cloud-native context.