通过现代化的 API 管理解决方案实现应用现代化

现代化的企业依靠 API 维持运营。切勿让 API 管理解决方案成为企业的掣肘(甚至完全缺失)。反之,选择 F5 和 NGINX 来管理 API,您可以获得巅峰性能、深入的可视化和无与伦比的速度。

 

挑战:如何找到行之有效的 API 管理解决方案

事实上,API 是数字化转型的核心,是为现代化的 Web 架构和移动应用提供动力的桥梁,帮助企业提供数字化的市场。API 已经无处不在,当我们在网上订购食物、使用手机应用呼叫出租车、或预订机票时,背后都有 API 的存在。

随着 API 和微服务数量的激增,传统面向单一应用的 API 管理解决方案已经无法满足现代化应用和环境的需求。此类解决方案价格昂贵、占用大量资源、性能低下,并且给现代应用带来了额外的复杂性。

以下是您可以采用的解决方式

随着应用的现代化,您愈发需要一套现代化的 API 管理解决方案。您的 API 管理解决方案必须轻量级、灵活、可移植,并且能够在容器上运行,以支持基于微服务的应用。该解决方案必须能够处理传统和现代应用的 API 流量,而不会带来额外的复杂性。最重要的是,任何情况下都不会使性能受到影响。

 

网络研讨会

弥合差异:现代化的 API 管理


F5 能够提供哪些帮助

NGINX Controller 的 API 管理模块是市面上最快的 API 管理解决方案,结合了 NGINX Plus 作为 API 网关的强大功能和高效与全新的控制平面功能。NGINX Controller 使基础架构/运营团队和 DevOps 团队能够制定、发布、保护、监控和分析 API。

F5 NGINX API 管理图示

解决方案指南

API 格局

API 已成为数字经济的核心。

API 有助于推动创新、加快进入市场的速度,并提供新的创收机会,以及与第三方开发人员乃至整个商业生态系统中的提供商、经销商、分销商甚至是客户建立合作伙伴关系的新机遇。

API 还可以通过解锁跨多个内部系统的数据访问,帮助打破壁垒。提供明确定义的接口,通过消除针对不同客户端应用程序开发自定义接口的需求,减少复杂性,降低成本,让开发人员和其他功能团队更快且更加轻松地实现协作。

最后但同样重要的是,对于使用微服务的应用程序现代化计划,而言,API 是基础,因为 API 是微服务间通信的主要接口。 

相关内容
下载解决方案指南以获取全部详情。
获取 NGINX 指南

API 网关

越常使用 API,API 网关就会变得越关键。

无论您想要访问来自传统整体化应用程序的数据,还是利用微服务构建新的应用程序,API 网关对于交付可靠、高性能的 API 都至关重要。

NGINX Plus 是行业内最为普及的 API 网关,可提供诸如请求路由、速率限制和 API 身份验证等强大功能。其还通过缓存常见的 API 响应及减少 API 端点上的负载,改善应用程序的性能。

Capital One 客户案例 >

以 Capital One 开发人员门户 DevExchange 为例。NGINX 技术已经支持该公司将其应用程序扩展至每天 120 亿次操作,峰值可达到每秒 200 万次操作,延迟仅有 10-30 毫秒。

第三方开发人员和合作伙伴能够利用 Capital One 的 API 打开银行账户、生成个性化信用卡优惠并追踪客户奖励,从而为自己的客户提供顶级数字化体验,并产生新的收益流。

阅读完整的 NGINX 客户案例 >

挑战

随着 API 及 API 网关数量的增加,NetOps 和 DevOps 团队必须应对多项挑战。所有这些 API 都需要在其整个生命周期获得有效的管理,包括定义、发布、保护、监控和分析使用情况以评估其价值。

API 网关负责路由流量,管理 API 网关不得降低网关本身的性能。微服务本身占用的空间很小,通过轻量级解决方案管理微服务的 API 流量也至关重要。最后,您需要一个开发人员门户,其公开所有 API,并利用强大的文档使得 API 更易于使用。

综合性 API 管理对于 API 的快速采用和持续成功至关重要。

解决方案

面向 NGINX Controller 的 API 管理模块将 NGINX Plus 的能力、速度和效率与控制平面功能相结合,授权 NetOps 和 DevOps 团队定义、发布、保护、监控和分析其 API。

该解决方案构建于将控制平面从数据平面分离的创新架构之上,具备以下特征:

经过验证 >

NGINX 软件为超过 3.5 亿个网站提供支持,并且根据 2018 年度用户调查,超过 40% 的 NGINX 用户已将 NGINX 部署为 API 网关。NGINX 在许多传统的 API 管理解决方案中,也是一种颇受欢迎的组件,为 Axway、IBM DataPower、Kong、MuleSoft、Red Hat 3Scale 等提供底层网关。

高性能 >

一些附加组件会引入不必要的复杂性、延迟和故障点,NGINX 则消除了对本地数据库和这些附加组件的需求。与传统的 API 管理解决方案不同,NGINX 将 API 运行时流量从 API 管理流量中隔离。如此,NGINX Plus API 网关(数据平面)便不需要持续连接至 NGINX Controller(控制平面)。这减少了服务于 API 调用的平均响应时间,从而降低复杂性并让性能实现最大化。

便携式 >

NGINX Controller 和 NGINX Plus 占用空间小,因此均可部署在任何环境中,包括裸机、VM、容器以及公有云、私有云和混合云。这种通用性意味着您既可以将 NGINX API 管理模块用于内部 API,也可以用于外部 API。在传统环境中轻松部署 NGINX Plus 以管理整体化应用程序的流量,并在容器中进行部署,以管理分布式应用程序微服务之间的流量。

结论

API 在后台应用程序的消耗中起着关键作用,并且未来几年中对企业的重要性将只增不减。很明显,当您使应用程序实现现代化时,就需要一个现代的 API 管理解决方案。

借助面向 NGINX Controller 的 API 管理模块,可以轻松定义 API 并将其发布至生产、测试或过渡环境,同时可获得所需的可见性以排除性能问题、提高客户满意度并实现商业价值最大化。此外,它还有助于通过提供身份验证、授权、基于角色的访问控制和速率限制,确保 API 的安全性。

在数字经济时代,综合性 API 管理对于业务成功至关重要。NGINX 提供单一解决方案以管理 API 的整个生命周期,并且丝毫无损于性能。

客户案例

对于 Adobe 的 API 网关而言,NGINX 是唯一符合逻辑的选择。

“[NGINX 的] 高性能、低延迟和稳定性是我们选择的关键因素。”

立即开始

获取数据表

详细了解 NGINX Controller API 管理模块的运作原理,及其如何利用深度可视化和指标追踪来帮助您始终避免性能问题。

阅读电子书

本电子书是一本实用指南,为单个和多个 API 环境提供了具体模型,帮助您在合适的时间为合适的成熟度投入合适的资源。

观看演示

深入了解 NGINX API 管理,涵盖如何利用 NGINX Controller 和 NGINX Plus 管理 API 的定义、发布、路由和安全的演示。

Modernize your apps with a modern API management solution

Modern businesses rely on APIs to operate. Don’t let your API management solution (or lack thereof) be your organization’s downfall. Instead, choose F5 and NGINX to manage your APIs, for peak performance, deep visibility and unparalleled speed.

 

THE CHALLENGE? FINDING AN API MANAGEMENT SOLUTION THAT WORKS

It’s a fact: APIs are central to digital transformation. They’re the connective tissue that powers modern web architectures and mobile apps and enables enterprises to deliver a digital marketplace. APIs have become ubiquitous—when we order food online, hail a cab using an app on our phone, or book airline tickets, APIs are behind it.

With the proliferation of APIs and microservices, traditional API management solutions designed for monolithic apps aren’t able to meet modern app and environment needs. They’re expensive, have a large footprint, deliver poor performance, and introduce additional complexity to modern apps.

HERE’S WHAT YOU CAN DO

As you modernize applications, you’re going to need a modern API management solution. Your API management solution has to be lightweight, flexible, portable, and able to run on containers to support microservices-based apps. It must be able to handle API traffic for both traditional and modern apps without introducing additional complexity. The most important part? It cannot, under any circumstances, compromise on performance.

 

Webinar

Bridging the Divide: Modern API Management


HOW F5 CAN HELP

The API Management Module for NGINX Controller is the fastest API management solution available, combining the raw power and efficiency of NGINX Plus as an API gateway with new control plane functionality. NGINX Controller empowers infrastructure/operations and DevOps teams to define, publish, secure, monitor, and analyze APIs.

F5 NGINX API management diagram

Solution guide

API LANDSCAPE

APIs have become central to the digital economy.

APIs help drive innovation, accelerate time to market, and provide new opportunities to generate revenue and build partnerships with third‑party developers—as well as your entire business ecosystem of suppliers, distributors, resellers, and even customers.

APIs also help break down silos by unlocking access to data across various internal systems. Providing a well‑defined interface reduces complexity and cost by eliminating the need to develop custom interfaces for different client applications, enabling developers and other functional teams to collaborate faster and easier.

Last but not least, APIs are foundational to application modernization initiatives that use microservices, as they are the primary interface for communication among microservices. 

Related content
Download the solution guide to get all the details.
Get the NGINX guide

API GATEWAYS

The more APIs you use, the more critical an API gateway becomes.

Whether you want to access data from traditional monolithic applications or build a new application using microservices, API gateways are crucial to delivering reliable and high performing APIs.

NGINX Plus—the industry’s most ubiquitous API gateway—provides robust functionality such as request routing, rate limiting, and API authentication. It also accelerates the performance of your applications by caching common API responses and reducing load on API endpoints.

Capital One customer story >

Take the case of Capital One’s developer portal, DevExchange. NGINX technology has enabled the company to scale its applications to 12 billion operations per day, with peaks of 2 million operations per second at latencies of just 10–30 milliseconds.

Third party developers and partners can provide a first-class digital experience for their customers—as well as create new revenue streams—by using Capital One’s APIs to open bank accounts, generate personalized credit card offers, and track customer rewards.

Read the full NGINX customer story >

CHALLENGE

As the number of APIs—and API gateways—increase, both NetOps and DevOps teams have to grapple with several challenges. All these APIs need to be managed in an efficient manner across their entire lifecycle, including defining, publishing, securing, monitoring, and analyzing usage to assess their value.

Managing an API gateway must not degrade the performance of the gateway itself, which is responsible for routing traffic. It’s also essential to have a lightweight solution to manage API traffic for microservices, which themselves have a small footprint. Finally, you need a developer portal that exposes all APIs and facilitates easy consumption of APIs via robust documentation.

Comprehensive API management is essential to the rapid adoption and continuing success of your APIs.

SOLUTION

The API Management Module for NGINX Controller combines the power, speed, and efficiency of NGINX Plus with control plane functionality—empowering NetOps and DevOps teams to define, publish, secure, monitor, and analyze their APIs.

Built on an innovative architecture that decouples the control plane from the data plane, the solution is:

Proven >

NGINX software powers more than 350 million websites and, according to a 2018 user survey, more than 40% of NGINX users have already deployed NGINX as an API gateway. NGINX is also a popular component in many traditional API management solutions, providing the underlying gateway for Axway, IBM DataPower, Kong, MuleSoft, Red Hat 3Scale, and others.

High-Performance >

NGINX eliminates the need for local databases and other additional components that introduce needless complexity, latency, and points of failure. Unlike traditional API management solutions, NGINX isolates API runtime traffic from API management traffic. As a result, the NGINX Plus API gateway (data plane) does not require constant connectivity to NGINX Controller (control plane). This reduces complexity and maximizes performance by reducing the average response time to serve an API call.

Portable >

Due to their small footprint, both NGINX Controller and NGINX Plus can be deployed in any environment including bare metal, VMs, containers, and public, private, and hybrid clouds. This versatility means you can use the NGINX API Management Module for both internal and external APIs. Easily deploy NGINX Plus in traditional environments to manage traffic for monolithic applications—and deploy it in containers to manage traffic among microservices for distributed applications.

CONCLUSION

APIs play a pivotal role in the consumption of apps behind the scenes—and their importance to your business will only grow in the coming years. One thing is clear: as you modernize your apps, you need a modern API management solution.

The API Management Module for NGINX Controller makes it easy to define and publish your APIs to production, test, or staging environments, while getting the visibility you need for troubleshooting performance issues, boosting customer satisfaction, and maximizing business value. In addition, it helps ensure that your APIs remain secure by providing authentication, authorization, role-based access control, and rate limiting.

In the digital economy, comprehensive API management is essential to business success. NGINX delivers a single solution to manage the entire lifecycle of your APIs—without compromising performance.

Resource

CUSTOMER STORY

When it came to Adobe’s API gateway, NGINX was the only logical choice.

“The performance, latency, and stability [of NGINX] are key factors for us.”

GET STARTED

Get the data sheet

Take a closer look at how the NGINX Controller API Management Module works and how it can help you consistently avoid performance issues using deep visibility and metric tracking.

Read the eBook

This eBook is a practical guide that provides models for individual and multi‑API landscapes to help you invest the right resources for the right maturity level at the right time.

View a demo

Take a deep dive into NGINX API management, including a demo of how to manage the definition, publication, routing, and security of APIs using NGINX Controller and NGINX Plus.