顺利阻拦欺诈行为

如何检测和击败现代网络攻击

随着数字化转型以前所未有的速度加速进行,越来越多的企业在线上开展战略策划,例如利润增长、客户忠诚度和品牌知名度的提高等。

但是他们遭黑客攻击的频率越来越高,导致账户接管 (ATO)、欺诈损失和品牌受损。任何运营电子商务应用或管理有价值用户帐户的业务都是黑客的目标。

网络欺诈的诱人投资回报率

攻击者要决定如何分配时间和资源,采用的决策方法等同于重大采购项目的成本与价值评估方法。如果目标易于攻击,投入较少,并且其价值又很高,攻击者往往会将其列为攻击目标。如果目标具有高度价值和完善的安全防护,发动攻击则需要更多的投入,这就使达成攻击方案的成本更高。

当今的攻击者可以使用便利的工具、轻松获得基础架构和泄露的数据,因此,通常仅需投入较低成本便可通过自动化窃取到高价值数据。技术进步幅度越大,成本下降程度也越低,次现状也适用与那些难以触及的目标。那么,如何使攻击者失去对您网站的攻击兴趣?或让他们犹豫是否可以攻击您的网站。

从电子书《攻击者经济学:黑客成本与价值》中了解使攻击者失去兴趣的新策略

20 世纪初,著名的银行劫匪 Willie Sutton 在他 40 年的职业生涯中盗取了大约 200 万美元。当被问及为什么抢劫银行时,他回答说:“因为银行存放着钱。”如果 Willie Sutton 今天还活着,我们可以肯定他不会再抢劫银行,而是选择欺诈应用。

欺诈行业比以往规模更大(更狡猾)

由于进入门槛低,资源获取方便,网络欺诈已成为一项巨大的买卖,挖掘个人身份信息 (PII) 的过程已达到工业化规模。仅在过去七年,就有 300 多亿条记录遭到泄露。

这样的现状不可接受的。据估计,网络欺诈会造成惊人的损失,但是企业领导者通常会预留预算以备支付费用。此外,为阻止欺诈者的安全控制可能会将真正的客户拒之门外,导致交易受阻和收入损失。

为了保护关键资产免受狡猾的网络犯罪分子的攻击,并确保战略业务取得成功,企业需要随着攻击者的发展而作出调整。

Aite Group 白皮书 - 网络欺诈产业化:以毒攻毒

Return To Hub ›

如今,大多数网站访问者不是人类,而是 Bot。

虽然有些 Bot 不会带来损失,如聊天机器人和搜索引擎,但大多数 Bot 是恶意攻击者用来获取未经授权的访问、接管客户账户,甚至实施欺诈的恶意 Bot,并且会破坏用户体验。而且这些 Bot 不断调整,可以模仿用户行为,绕过常见的反制措施,如 CAPTCHA。以下是一些最相关的自动攻击趋势,以及可采用的反制措施。

查看信息图

击败 Bot

捍卫您的电子商务业务 ›

凭证填充:恶意攻击者损害实际客户

超过 90% 的企业在线和移动流量可能来自网络犯罪分子进行的自动攻击,意图窃取客户数据并实施欺诈。

这些攻击(称为凭证填充)可能导致账户接管和严重的欺诈损失,同时也会对应用性能和分析的准确性产生负面影响。更糟糕的是,攻击者还蓄意从会员计划中抽走资金和积分来损害用户的对贵司的信任信任。

98.5% 的用户会员计划请求属于攻击行为。

Shape 解决方案是 F5 的一部分,其采用多层次的方法消除撞库攻击 - 每周保护超过 40 亿笔交易。

对于与网站或应用连接的每个连接,Shape 将创建并分配一个设备 ID,其使用高级信号收集和机器学习算法实时创建访问您网站的每个设备的唯一标识符。凭借此唯一的标识符以及其他信号,Shape 解决方案可以实时识别和阻止使用受损凭证的企图,阻止模拟人类行为的 Bot 以及手动破解应用,以绕过反自动化防御的欺诈者。

Shape Enterprise Defense:解决方案概述

Shape 是 F5 的一部分,其每周为全球知名企业保护超过 40 亿笔交易免受攻击。

CAPTCHA 和其他网络安全误区正在损害您的业务

您的网站是否还在使用 CAPTCHA 抵御自动攻击?如果是,它可能不会起任何作用,相反还可能导致意外后果,例如由于过度安全防护而导致客户流失。随着第三方 CAPTCHA 解决方案服务的增多(自动和人工),绕过 CAPTCHA 变得越来越简单。因此,您的网络和移动应用需要更好的保护。

您最不愿做的事情就是将现实的业务决策和安全结果基于误区,即使这听起来令人信服。

危害业务的网络安全误区

Return To Hub ›

零售商在不增加阻力的情况下修复欺诈

一家北美零售连锁店以其提供的豪华产品和顺畅的在线体验而闻名,他们以提供出色的用户体验而自豪。但是,自动攻击者利用该公司的精简系统对其进行破坏。

在尝试使用传统反制措施(CAPTCHA、阻止 IP 地址等)打击攻击者之后,该零售商转向使用 Shape 解决方案。经过三个星期的观察,他们得以减轻影响开始运营,效果立竿见影。

从使用 Shape 解决方案的第一天开始,想 Shape 解决方案进入阻止模式时,我们观察到自动欺诈下降了近 100%。

北美零售商首席信息官

虽然用户有忠诚度,但欺诈者并不拥有忠诚度;一旦我们对网络攻击加以阻止,他们便会放弃。

北美零售商首席信息官

自适应安全方法

在接下来的 30 天里,该零售商免受欺诈超过 500,000 美元,这些费用本会因账户接管和礼品卡破解而产生。攻击者试图围绕 Shape 解决方案的防御系统进行重新配置,但由于 Shape 解决方案跟踪数百个网络、设备和环境信号,因此攻击者很容易被找到并再次被阻止。

由于自动攻击者被 Shape 解决方案击退,从源服务器上只能看到人类访问者,访问量仅为先前负载的 1%。通过减少 99% 的流量,Shape 解决方案减轻了 “基础架构的巨大负担,这对收益产生了直接的积极影响。”

零售商解决鞋机秒杀,解决欺诈、不满和假货问题

该零售商之所以成功,不仅因为最初的抵御措施,还因为该解决方案能够适应不断变化的攻击者策略。如果目标足够诱人,恶意攻击者会找到解决静态安全反制措施的方法。事实上,攻击者正利用训练有素的人工智能 (AI) 模型来绕过安全措施。企业(尤其是保护高度敏感客户信息的组织)需要继续让业务和技术合作伙伴负责,以确保即使在应用启动后也能保证应用的安全性和完整性。

虚构的保留案例:信号和共享数据的强大力量可阻止应用攻击

随着阻止可疑行为防御手段的发展,攻击者通过创建工具,利用并模仿个人用户的所有细微差别来做出回应。

领先于不断变化的攻击策略仍将是一场持久战。 

随着阻止日益复杂的自动化欺诈抵御的发展,最大限度降低基于 Bot 的欺诈投资回报率,但是攻击者并不会放弃攻击。他们将转向使用更加难以识别的方法,例如模拟人类行为、调试人类点击农场和手动侵入应用。虽然自动化是当今的主要焦点,但组织还应做好准备以应对自动化和人为欺诈结合的混合形式。

当今企业面临的网络威胁仍会继续增长。在全球范围内,欺诈损失每年以两位数增长。随着数字化进程的继续和越来越多的客户在网上寻求服务,风险范围将扩大并变得更加分散。通过考虑使用一种跨职能的安全方法,将总收入潜力、盈利压力和客户体验综合考虑,企业才可以为未来的威胁形势做好准备。

新业务势在必行

2019 年尼尔森报告 - 美国信用卡欺诈损失(以十亿美元为单位)

考虑欺诈抵御投资

仅是投入更多资金用于检测网络欺诈的工具就可以保障网络安全了吗?答案很明确:不行。企业发现,尽管每年已花费数十亿美元用于检测网络欺诈的工具,但直接欺诈损失仍继续攀升。瞻博网络研究预计,到 2023 年,网络欺诈损失总额每年将超过 480 亿美元。

当前的欺诈工具需要广泛配置,产生模棱两可的风险评分,并且要求欺诈团队制定自己的规则,这可能给合法用户带来很大的不满,最终影响企业收益。为了应对不断变化的攻击,提供持久保护,企业需要投资安全解决方案,不断适应攻击者的发展,同时又不会影响到真实用户。

阻止自动攻击流量不仅可以防止欺诈,也降低了整体业务成本。

许多公司已成功部署网络防欺诈解决方案,以确保实现战略业务成果。阅读以下案例,考虑加强防欺诈工作如何对组织产生巨大影响。

全球交友平台击败账户接管

阻止自动攻击流量不仅可以防止欺诈,也降低了整体业务成本。了解 Shape 解决方案如何帮助全球交友平台的 IT 团队消除分散注意力的流量,将网站延迟从 250 毫秒缩短到 100 毫秒。

国际航空公司票价窃取

传统的网站防御无法抵御自适应的自动对手。了解 Shape 解决方案如何帮助国际航空公司转移试图窃取专有飞行信息的狡猾 Bot。

WAF 是否可以使用增强功能?

Shape 解决方案专注于减少欺诈,F5 Device ID+ 是我们反 Bot 和反欺诈解决方案的基础组件,可用于增强您的其他安全工具性能。将我们的实时设备标识符集成到网络应用防火墙 (WAF) 或企业应用访问解决方案中,可以检测和阻止已知的恶意设备,从而避免应用遭受潜在的破坏。

最棒的是我们免费提供解决方案。

在多云世界中领先于网络欺诈

F5 解决方案通过防御破坏客户体验和损害品牌声誉的攻击,保护电子商务和数字计划,例如客户忠诚度和品牌知名度,从而让合法用户感到满意。

借助全面的多云应用安全性和反欺诈功能,保护您的关键资产免受最狡猾的网络罪犯的侵害,从而抵御当今的动态攻击,保护电子商务业务。

谨致,

我们已收到您的要求,将很快与您联系。

Stop fraud without friction

How to detect and defeat modern cyber attacks

As digital transformation accelerates at an unprecedented rate, strategic initiatives such as revenue collection, customer loyalty, and brand awareness are now primarily online.

And they’re increasingly being hijacked by hackers, leading to account takeover (ATO), fraud losses, and damaged brands. Any business that operates e-commerce applications or manages user accounts of value is a target.

The Attractive ROI of Online Fraud

Attackers decide where to spend their time and resources in the same way you might evaluate the cost versus value of an important purchase. If a target is dirt cheap to compromise and the value is astronomical, it’s an easy decision. If a target is highly valuable and highly guarded, an attack requires more investment, making the cost of successful compromise higher.  

Today’s attackers have access to readily available tools, infrastructure, and compromised data, so it often costs pennies on the dollar to steal high-value data through automation. The more technology advances, the lower the costs fall, even for harder-to-obtain targets. So how do you demotivate attackers from targeting your site? Keep them guessing.

Learn new strategies for demotivating attackers in the eBook: Attacker Economics: Hacker Cost vs. Value

A famous bank robber, Willie Sutton, stole an estimated $2 million over his 40-year career on the run in the early 1900s. When asked why he robbed banks, he replied, “Because that’s where the money is.” If Willie Sutton were alive today, we can safely assume he wouldn’t be robbing banks anymore. He’d be defrauding applications.

The Fraud Business Is Bigger (and Smarter) Than Ever

Thanks to the low barriers to entry and easy access to resources, online fraud has become big business, and the process for mining personal identifiable information (PII) has reached industrial proportions. More than 30 billion records have been breached in the last seven years alone.

The status quo is unacceptable. Estimated online fraud losses are staggering, yet business leaders often reserve budget in anticipation of paying out chargebacks. Plus, security controls intended to thwart fraudsters can frustrate real customers, leading to abandoned transactions and lost revenue.

To protect critical assets from sophisticated cybercriminals and ensure the success of strategic business imperatives, organizations need to adapt as attackers evolve.

Aite Group Report—The Industrialization of Fraud: Fighting Fire with Fire

Back to: Defend Your E-Commerce Business | F5 Networks

Today, most website visitors aren’t human. They’re bots.

While some bots are benign, like chatbots and search engines, most are bad bots used by malicious attackers to gain unauthorized access, take over customer accounts, and even commit fraud while eroding the customer experience. And they’re constantly retooling to mimic user behavior and bypass common countermeasures like CAPTCHA. Here are some of the most relevant automated attack trends, and how you can fight back against them.

View the infographic

Breaking Down Bots

Back to: Stop Fraud Without Friction

Credential Stuffing: Bad Actors Compromise Real Customers

Ninety percent or more of an enterprise's online and mobile traffic can be from cybercriminals performing automated attacks with the intent to steal customer data and commit fraud.

These attacks, known as credential stuffing, can lead to account takeover and serious fraud losses, while also negatively impacting application performance and skewing analytics. And if that wasn’t enough, attackers also aim to jeopardize your customers’ trust by siphoning money and points from loyalty programs.

98.5% of requests to a customer loyalty program were attacks.

Shape solutions, part of F5, have a multi-leveled approach to defeat credential stuffing – protecting over 4 billion transactions per week.

For every connection to a site or application, Shape creates and assigns a Device ID – a unique identifier to each device visiting your site created in real-time utilizing advanced signal collection and machine learning algorithms. Utilizing this unique identifier as well as other signals, Shape solutions can identify and stop attempts to use compromised credentials in real-time, blocking bots that emulate human behavior and fraudsters who manually hack applications to bypass anti-automation defenses.

Shape Enterprise Defense: Solution Overview

Shape, part of F5, protects over 4 billion transactions per week from sophisticated attacks on behalf of the world’s largest companies.

CAPTCHA and Other Cybersecurity Myths That Are Hurting Your Business

Are your sites using CAPTCHA to mitigate automated attacks? If so, it’s probably not working, and it could be causing unintended consequences such as customer abandonment due to excessive friction. And with an increase in third-party CAPTCHA solving services, both automated and human powered, it has become increasingly simple to bypass CAPTCHA. Your web and mobile applications need better protection.

The last thing you want to do is base real business decisions and security outcomes on a myth, even if it does sound convincing.

Cybersecurity Myths That Are Harming Your Business

Back to: Defend Your E-Commerce Business | F5 Networks

Retailer Fixes Fraud Without Increasing Friction

Known for their luxury product offering and friction-free online experience, a North American retail chain prided themselves on providing a great customer experience. But the company was ravaged by automated attackers taking advantage of their streamlined system. 

After trying and failing to combat attackers with traditional countermeasures (CAPTCHA, blocking IP addresses, etc.), the retailer turned to Shape solutions. After three weeks of observation, they went live with mitigation, and the results were immediate.

From day one, when Shape went into blocking mode, we saw a nearly 100% drop in fraud from automation.

CIO of North American retailer

While customers are loyal, fraudsters are not; once we stopped them, they went away.

CIO of North American retailer

An Adaptive Security Approach

In the following 30-day period, the retailer saved over $500,000 in fraud that would have been lost due to account takeover and gift card cracking. The attackers attempted to retool around Shape’s defenses, but because Shape tracks hundreds of network, device, and environment signals, the attackers were easily found and blocked again.

With automated attackers repelled by Shape, the origin servers saw only the human visitors—a mere 1% of the previous load. By reducing 99% of traffic, Shape lifted “a huge burden off our infrastructure, which had a direct positive impact on revenue.”

Retailer Solves Shoe-Bot Spikes, Fixes Fraud, Friction and Fake

This retailer was successful not only because of the initial mitigation measures, but because of the solution’s ability to adapt to changing attacker tactics. Bad actors will find a way around static security countermeasures if the target is sufficiently attractive. In fact, attackers now leverage trained artificial intelligence (AI) models to bypass security. Organizations, especially those that guard highly sensitive customer information, need to continue to hold business and technology partners accountable for ensuring the security and integrity of the application even after launch.

Fake Reservation Story: The Power of Signals & Sharing Data to Stop Application Attack

As defenses improved to block questionable behavior, attackers responded by creating tools to exploit and imitate individual users with all their nuances.

Staying ahead of shifting attack strategies will continue to be an ongoing battle. 

As fraud mitigation evolves to block increasingly sophisticated automation and minimize the ROI for bot-based fraud, attackers won’t give up. They’ll pivot to methods that are harder to identify, such as emulating human behavior, commissioning human click farms, and manually hacking applications. While automation is the main focus today, organizations should prepare themselves to fight against a hybrid of automated and human-driven fraud.

The cyber threats facing businesses today will only continue to grow. Globally, fraud loss is increasing annually in double digits. As digitization continues and more customers are seeking services online, the risk surface will expand and become even more porous. Your business can prepare for the future threat landscape by considering a cross-functional approach to security that considers top-line potential, bottom-line pressure, and customer experience together.

The New Business Imperative

2019 Nilson Report–US Credit Card Fraud Loss ($Billions)

Considering Your Fraud Mitigation Investment

Is it enough to just spend more on tools to detect online fraud? Short answer: no. Enterprises find that despite spending billions annually on tools to detect online fraud, direct fraud losses continue to climb. Juniper Research projects that online fraud losses in aggregate will exceed $48 billion per year by 2023.

Current fraud tools require extensive configuration, generate ambiguous risk scores, and require fraud teams to develop their own rules, potentially applying a lot of friction to legitimate users and ultimately hurting revenue. For lasting protection against an increasingly dynamic attack surface, businesses need to invest in security solutions that continuously adapt to attackers without introducing friction for real customers.

Stopping automated attack traffic does more than prevent fraud; it reduces overall business costs.

Many companies have successfully deployed online fraud prevention solutions to ensure strategic business outcomes. Read their stories below and consider how strengthening your fraud prevention efforts could have a dramatic impact on your organization.

Global Dating Platform Defeats Account Takeovers

Stopping automated attack traffic does more than prevent fraud; it reduces overall business costs. See how Shape helped a global dating platform’s IT team eliminate distracting traffic and decrease site latency from 250ms to 100ms.

International Airline Fights Fare Scrapers

Traditional website defenses fall short against adaptive automated adversaries. Learn how Shape helped an international airline deflect sophisticated bots attempting to steal proprietary flight information.

Could your WAF use a boost?

Shape specializes in reducing fraud, however F5 Device ID+, the foundational component of our anti-bot and anti-fraud solutions can be used to enhance your other security tools. Integrating our real-time device identifier into your web application firewall (WAF) or your corporate application access solution can detect and block known bad devices – saving your applications from a potential breach.

The best part? We offer this free of charge.

Stay Ahead of Online Fraud in a Multi-Cloud World

F5 solutions protect e-commerce and digital initiatives such as customer loyalty and brand awareness by defeating attacks that compromise customer experiences and damage brand reputation—all without frustrating legitimate users.

Defend your e-commerce business against today’s dynamic attacks with comprehensive, multi-cloud application security and anti-fraud capabilities that protect your most critical assets from the most sophisticated cybercriminals.

THANK YOU

We received your request. We'll be reaching out shortly.

SPEAK WITH F5'S SECURITY EXPERTS

Got a security question, issue, or something else you'd like to discuss? We'd love to hear from you!

We'll make sure to contact you by email within one business day.

Back to: Stop Fraud Without Friction