F5 GLOSSARY

Inondation PUSH et ACK

Lorsqu’un client se connecte à un serveur, il peut demander une confirmation de réception des informations en activant la balise ACK, ou forcer le serveur à traiter l’information dans le paquet en activant la balise PUSH. Ces deux types de requête imposent au serveur plus de travail que les requêtes ordinaires.

En inondant un serveur de requêtes PUSH et ACK artificielles, un attaquant peut empêcher le serveur de répondre au trafic valide. Cette technique est appelée inondation PUSH ou ACK flood.

Les messages PUSH et ACK faisant partie du flux de trafic standard, seule une quantité extraordinaire de ces messages peut indiquer un abus. L’utilisation d’une architecture full-proxy pour gérer chaque conversation entre le client et le serveur permet d’éliminer rapidement les abus.

Les deux logiciels F5 BIG-IP Local Traffic Manager (LTM) et BIG-IP Advanced Firewall Manager (AFM) sont construits sur des architectures full-proxy, de sorte qu’ils peuvent déterminer les flux de trafic valides et supprimer les inondations de trafic PUSH et ACK afin qu’elles ne passent jamais sur le réseau protégé.

GLOSSARY

PUSH and ACK Flood

When connecting with a server, the client can ask for confirmation that the information was received by setting the ACK flag, or it can force the server to process the information in the packet by setting the PUSH flag. Both requests require the server to do more work than with other types of requests.

By flooding a server with spurious PUSH and ACK requests, an attacker can prevent the server from responding to valid traffic. This technique is called a PUSH or ACK flood.

Since PUSH and ACK messages are a part of standard traffic flow, a huge flood of these messages alone indicates abuse. Using a full-proxy architecture to manage every conversation between the client and the server can weed out abuse quickly.

Both F5 BIG-IP Local Traffic Manager (LTM) and BIG-IP Advanced Firewall Manager (AFM) are built on full-proxy architectures, so they can determine valid traffic flow and drop PUSH and ACK traffic floods so they never pass to the protected network.

Connect with F5

F5 Labs

The latest in application threat intelligence.

DevCentral

The F5 community for discussion forums and expert articles.

F5 Newsroom

News, F5 blogs, and more.