云中优化应用性能

云中优化应用性能的五大原则

相关内容

Puppet DevOps 状态报告 ›

深入了解将安全集成到软件交付生命周期中的相关数据。

阅读报告 ›

时代发展节奏之快,一旦放慢脚步即有可能遭到淘汰,因此企业采用云服务时主要会以速度和敏捷性作为首要考量。然而,对于一个已经稳步践行 DevOps 理念,主攻加速应用部署并同时改善应用性能和保障安全性的企业而言,还需要哪些举措可以令您的系统和程序更为现代化,完美克服云中速度过慢这一问题?F5 可以为您提供一些建议。

1. 让基础结构即代码成为助力

“手动”一词几乎完全可以用老派和不可预知来形容;在追求速度和可靠性的情况下,绝大数人会优先考虑以自动化作为起点。无论是在启用额外的云资源来扩展应用或是在部署和配置基本应用服务,其实都应该如在控制台执行 API 调用或是单击一两下般简单直接;而使用基础结构即代码 (IaC) 则是完美实现此目标的关键。与基础结构/NetOps/SecOps 同行携手,一同制定已验证的定义文件(包含部署内容和方式详细信息),将使您能够以快速可靠且可重复的方式管理基础结构和服务。

利用这种模板化的方式进行自助部署,最终将让您减少对其他团队的依赖性,防止部署因手动基础结构配置的票证请求出现瓶颈问题。

2. 让 CI/CD 管道物尽其用

在试图令部署加快脚步时,选择基础结构即服务即是迈出了成功的第一步,而利用完整 CI/CD 管道的价值可令您收获颇丰。除了以更频繁的基准集成新应用代码并将更新自动推送到产品,您是否还知道可以将应用服务插入集成到管道?通过将这些服务定义为代码 (IaC),并将其存储于可定期受到监控、更新和验证的源代码控制工具内,您的 CI/CD 工具(如 Ansible 和 GitLab)即可通过 API 调用,将这些服务自动置入部署。如此一来,您便能够在不延误部署的情况下,确保每个应用皆具备适宜的安全性和合规控制措施

3. 让容器使用万无一失

近期采用容器的主流趋势是以能够将整个应用所需代码、库和二进制文件捆绑到一个轻量级程序包(可跨平台实现快速一致部署)为基础。由于可以随时随地启用和扩展应用、加速 CI/CD 进程和构建高动态和可管理的微服务架构,这些特点都为在云中改善速度奠定了良好开端。

暂且不论这些理论性优势,让我们来看看目前的实际情况:由于轻易走进了只求快的“怪圈”而忽略仍有一些应用需要与其他应用产品组合同等(或更高)安全和应用性能优化水平这一点,造成在试图改造现有应用服务来满足不同容器需求时,有可能只会取得有限进展而使结果差强人意。从另一个角度来看,您其实需要的是一组更为动态化的服务,可以与容器编排系统集成,实现为容器提供切实的支持,避免突如其来的中断和突发性安全/合规问题。

4. 让可视化造就全局观

让应用变快和加快运行速度其实含义一样。不过,从整体角度而言,不改变应用所在位置还要让用户继续如常使用应用却是截然不同的难题。一旦投入使用,应用的运行便会面临数不胜数的潜在威胁,如网络中断、平台问题、网络攻击和代码错误,不胜枚举。这通常会使排查单个应用中断问题这类任务如大海捞针般毫无头绪,但想想不同云环境中多个量级应用同时发生故障,您又会从何下手呢?

面对此类情况,可视化便是获得全局观的重要前提,因此在寻找应用问题解决之道时,可视化便会发挥举足轻重的作用。对应用堆栈各层的可视化程度越高,就越有可能识别操作异常和发现根本原因。由此可见,为了更快速地解决跨多云架构的应用问题,实施可同时支持云和应用的集中化可视化解决方案至关重要。

5. 让团队合作成为筑造梦想的基石

一言以蔽之,云的敏捷性并不单单只是依靠正确的工具和技术,虽然不可否认工具和技术带来的好处,但人员和流程因素也承担着重要作用。“一个网络的快慢取决于其中最慢的那条线”这句话其实并非空穴来风,对于负责构建、部署和管理云中应用的团队,这句话更似真理。对一个团队而言,日常的工作至少会涉及 DevOps、SecOps、NetOps 和架构等层面,这意味着若出现个人或协作效率低下的情况,很有可能会对整个团队工作造成影响。

打破团队间的壁垒,定期组织团队互动,并形成一种完善的团队互动模式,这样可以为促进加速规划、故障排除和信息共享提供良好的根基,确保团队成员协同共进。您不仅可以由此更充分的利用“各家所长”,确保更顺利的推进工作,还能够通过在其他部门倡导自动化和流程优化等事项,协助全员高效展开工作而成就美谈。

探索更多

文章

原生云服务是否满足了您的一切所需?

哪些迹象表明云原生安全和应用性能服务已经跟不上您的发展节奏?

解决方案

要速度,更要把握尺度

了解如何在无损部署速度的情况下获取与业务需求相契合的安全性、性能和可视化。

网络研讨会

跨团队协作,加快代码交付速度,改善客户服务体验

考虑到速度这一因素,开发人员一直在不断接手应用开发这项工作,而网络和安全团队似乎已脱离其中。

OPTIMIZING APP PERFORMANCE IN THE CLOUD

5 Principles for Optimizing App Performance in the Cloud

FEATURED RESOURCE


Mastering Cloud Operations ›

Read the preview edition of O’Reilly’s latest book and learn how to address the toughest part of any cloud transformation, people and processes.

Get the free excerpt ›

Speed and agility continue to be among the leading motives for enterprise cloud adoption, since slow has become unacceptable in this fast-paced world we live in. But as a DevOps practitioner tasked with accelerating app deployments while improving app performance and ensuring security, what does it take to modernize your systems and processes to overcome slow in the cloud? We have a few suggestions.

1. Infrastructure-as-code is your friend

99% of the time, the word “manual” may as well be synonymous with both lethargy and unpredictability; most would agree that when pursuing speed and reliability, automation is a good place to start. Whether you’re spinning up additional cloud resources to scale out an app, or deploying and configuring essential app services, it really should be as straight forward as executing an API call or making a click or two in a console. Utilizing infrastructure-as-code (IaC) is the key to success here. Working with your Infrastructure/NetOps/SecOps counterparts to establish validated definition files that detail what and how things are being deployed will allow you to provision infrastructure and services in a fast, repeatable, and reliable manner.

Leveraging this templated approach to self-service deployments will ultimately make you less dependent on other teams and prevent deployment bottlenecks caused by ticket-based requests for manual infrastructure provisioning.

2. Take FULL advantage of your CI/CD pipeline

Infrastructure-as-code provides a step in the right direction when trying to accelerate deployments, but there are considerably more gains to be had by exploiting the value of a complete CI/CD pipeline. Beyond the ability to integrate new application code on a more frequent basis and have those updates pushed to production automatically, did you know you can also integrate the insertion of app services into your pipeline too? By defining these services as code (IaC) and storing them within a source control tool where they can be regularly monitored, updated, and verified, your CI/CD tools (like Ansible and GitLab) can automatically pull these services into the deployment via an API call. In doing so, you’ll make sure every app goes out with the appropriate security and compliance controls without delaying deployments.

3. Adopt containers… but do so securely

The ability to bundle the required code, libraries, and binaries for an entire application into a lightweight package that can be quickly and consistently deployed across platforms is the foundation for the recent surge in container adoption. These characteristics bode well when optimizing for speed in the cloud—providing the ability to spin up and scale out apps on the fly, accelerate CI/CD processes, and build highly dynamic and manageable microservices architectures.

Putting that hype aside, it can be all too easy to get caught up in the pursuit of speed and forget that there are still apps that require the same (or greater) levels of security and app performance optimization as the rest of your application portfolio. And unfortunately, you’re only likely to have limited success when trying to retrofit existing app services to meet the distinct needs of containers. Instead, you’ll need to identify a more dynamic set of services that integrate with your container orchestration system to truly support your containers, helping avoid undesirable outages and security/compliance issues.

4. Knowledge Visibility is power

Getting apps up and running quickly is one thing. Keeping them there and available to users is a different challenge altogether. There’s a myriad of possible threats to your applications’ health once in production—network disruptions, platform issues, cyberattacks, and code bugs to name just a few. This often makes the task of troubleshooting a single application outage feel like you’re looking for a needle in a haystack but consider the magnitude of multiple concurrent app failures across different cloud environments. Where would you start?

In this scenario, visibility is the precursor to knowledge, making it invaluable when seeking resolution to app problems. The greater degree of visibility you have into each layer of your applications’ stack, the greater your ability to identify operational anomalies and root causes. To this end, it’s critical to implement a centralized visibility solution that is both cloud- and app-agnostic to more quickly resolve app issues across multi-cloud architectures.

5. Teamwork makes the dream work

And finally, cloud agility is not all just about having the right tools and technology (yes those definitely help). It’s also about people and processes. There’s some truth to the saying that “A network is only as fast as its slowest wire.” And that quote holds true when applied to the teams responsible for building, deploying, and managing apps in the cloud. It’s a team effort usually spanning DevOps, SecOps, NetOps, and architects at a minimum, meaning individual or collaborative inefficiencies will likely impact the team as a whole.

Get the State of Application Services 2020: DevOps Edition

Breaking down siloes and enforcing a regular and robust engagement model between teams will provide a good foundation to help accelerate planning, troubleshooting, and information sharing, ensuring everybody is marching to the same beat. Not only will you be able to better leverage cross-functional expertise to make your life easier, but you’ll be able to reciprocate by advocating for things like automation and process optimization in other occupations—helping everybody move faster.

DISCOVER MORE

Article

Are you getting everything you need from native cloud services?

What are the signs that you’ve outgrown those cloud-native security and app performance services?

Solution

Choose speed without getting burned

Find out how to get the security, performance, and visibility your business demands without slowing down development.

Webinar

Working across teams to get from code to customer faster

Responsibility for app dev has been shifting towards developers and away from network and security in the interest of speed.