F5 GLOSSARY

Application Delivery Controller

Ein Application Delivery Controller ist ein Gerät, das in der Regel in einem Rechenzentrum zwischen der Firewall und einem oder mehreren Anwendungsservern (einem Bereich, der als DMZ bekannt ist) platziert wird. Application Delivery Controller der ersten Generation sind in erster Linie für die Anwendungsbeschleunigung und dasLoad Balancing zwischen Servern verantwortlich.

Die neueste Generation von Application Delivery Controller, wie die F5-BIG-IP®-Produktfamilie, beherrscht eine viel größere Auswahl an Funktionen, einschließlich Rate-Formung und SSL-Abladung, und dient auch als Web Application Firewall.

Eine Reihe von F5-Geräten, die sich häufig in weit verstreuten Rechenzentren innerhalb desselben Unternehmens befinden, können durch ein gemeinsames Betriebssystem und eine gemeinsame Steuersprache zusammenarbeiten. Dieser ganzheitliche Ansatz wird als Anwendungsbereitstellungsnetzwerk bezeichnet.

F5-Produkte, die einen Application Delivery Controller beinhalten:

Wenn Sie mehr über Application Delivery Controllererfahren möchten, besuchen Sie DevCentral.

GLOSSARY

Application Delivery Controller

An application delivery controller is a device that is typically placed in a data center between the firewall and one or more application servers (an area known as the DMZ). First-generation application delivery controllers primarily performed application acceleration and handled load balancing between servers.

The latest generation of application delivery controllers, such as the F5 BIG-IP® product family, handles a much wider variety of functions, including rate shaping and SSL offloading, as well as serving as a Web application firewall.

A series of F5 devices, often located in widespread data centers within the same enterprise, is capable of working in concert by sharing a common operating system and control language. This holistic approach is termed application delivery networking.

F5 products that involve an Application Delivery Controller:

To learn more on application delivery controllers, visit DevCentral.

Connect with F5

F5 Labs

The latest in application threat intelligence.

DevCentral

The F5 community for discussion forums and expert articles.

F5 Newsroom

News, F5 blogs, and more.