客户案例 | 教育行业

汉城大学借助 F5 改善安全形势并整合网络设备

汉城大学徽标

益处

简化安全策略管理

提升应用性能

降低管理网络的时间和成本

挑战

部署定制化安全策略的功能局限

由于安全解决方案的复杂性,性能较低

运营费用和管理负担增加

  • Share via AddThis

汉城大学需要改善自身安全形势,并在课程注册期间提高应用的性能,原因在于同一时间会有成千上万的学生进行大量访问。通过使用 F5 的服务整合安全解决方案和网络设备,该所高校成功防御网络攻击,提供了可靠的终端用户体验,减轻了运营工作负载,并降低了 20% 的维护成本。

通过部署具有 DDoS 防护、负载均衡和 SSL 可见性等功能的多功能设备,我们简化了网络配置并降低了维护成本,让我们受益匪浅。

业务挑战

汉城大学成立于 1972 年,地处首尔市中心,是一所培育创新型人才的知名学府。通过培养自我管理能力和人际交往能力,汉城大学滋养了一种创造性和包容性的文化。这种文化氛围也利于该所高校培养具有优秀沟通技巧和国际竞争力意识的世界性人才。

汉城大学的需求是要升级自身的安全解决方案,主动防范网络攻击,并通过可定制的安全策略提高灵活性。

汉城大学计算中心信息团队负责人 Seong Kil Kim 说道:“我们的目标是要成为拥有最佳安全形势的大学,不仅要升级我们的网络应用防火墙 (WAF),还要领先一步,部署 DDoS 解决方案。我们之前的 WAF 并没办法提供数据透明度,而且还需要设置适当的安全策略,确保可靠的用户体验。”

此外,网络的复杂性影响了大学应用的性能,网络管理的时间和成本由此有所增加。在繁忙的注册期间,基于服务器的安全解决方案无法处理大量的流量,导致性能下降。由此便需要额外的服务器,并增加了可扩展 IT 基础设施的成本。

Seong Kil Kim 提到:“由于安全解决方案和网络的复杂性,很难找出问题的根本原因。每次发生安全或性能问题时,我们都要检查每一台设备,对于管理员来说,非常浪费时间,并且任务繁重。”

F5 解决方案可以提供数据透明度,将找出问题和解决问题的时间缩短 50%。

解决方案

由于现有 WAF 功能有限已无法满足需要,汉城大学决定寻找一种可以满足以下需求的解决方案:降低网络复杂性、可以实现可靠用户体验的稳定性能,还要兼顾较低的维护成本。在寻觅过程中,他们还扩大了规划范围,决定实施 DDoS 防护解决方案以及升级的网络解决方案。

该大学需要能够同时提供安全和网络解决方案的供应商,从而实现简化网络配备并提高性能。Seong Kil Kim提到:“只有 F5 能够提供我们所要求的数据透明度水平。我们希望对数据事务、WAF 阻止网络攻击的方式一目了然,从而建立定制化的安全策略,但其他供应商都无法提供日志信息。”

汉城大学采用了综合 WAF,即 BIG-IP 应用安全管理器 (ASM) 保护自身免遭应用层攻击,并提供 SSL 可视化,并结合使用 BIG-IP 本地流量管理器,进行负载均衡和智能流量管理。

该所高校还部署了 BIG-IP 高级防火墙管理器(AFM),用于以应用为中心的保护、DDoS 缓解和数据安全。最后,他们还选购了 BIG-IQ 集中式管理,在一个窗口中控制所有上述解决方案。

这种运用多种 F5 解决方案组合的全新架构,将汉城大学的 IT 基础设施转变为一个高度安全、可管理和可扩展的平台。

优势

汉城大学部署了可提供数据流可见性的灵活安全解决方案,使整体维护成本降低了 20%,减少了运营管理所用时间。

强化安全策略管理

借助 BIG-IP 应用安全管理器模块(ASM),汉城大学可以灵活部署定制化安全策略并提高 IT 安全治理的效率。该解决方案提供了广泛的报告功能,用户可以将攻击和操作状态等数据可视化,并可以随时查看可显示攻击性质的图形分析。当检测到异常情况时,IT 团队由此能够迅速做出反应。

“在实施之前,当发现异常时,我们必须检查每一台设备,但如今我们可以迅速发现问题,因为 F5 解决方案带来了当前数据流的透明度。”

通过 F5 解决方案提供的可视化,汉城大学实现了以事倍功半的形式解决问题和修复问题;解决方案帮助汉城大学将发现和修复问题的时间缩短了 50%,并使该所高校能够提供可靠的用户体验。

改善应用性能

汉城大学通过整合安全基础设施,提高了课程注册期间的课程注册应用性能。整合过的全新网络足以取代购买额外的 L4 交换机来进行实时考勤管理。现有的基础设施可以支持并发的海量数据事务,而无需额外的设备。此外,F5 解决方案可以集中处理资源密集型的 SSL 流量,减少大学网络服务器的负载。

减少管理网络的时间和成本

使用 F5 解决方案对网络进行整合,帮助汉城大学大幅减少管理和运营工作任务并削减了网络管理成本。

Seong Kil Kim 说道:“在实施 BIG-IP 应用安全管理器(ASM)之前,服务器管理员必须分别升级 30 多台服务器才能实现 SSL 可视化。而现在只需要对 BIG-IP 应用安全管理器进行一次升级即可。整体管理时间缩短了 50% 以上,让我们受益匪浅。”

与 F5 安全和网络解决方案进行整合的主要好处之一便是,当出现问题或有疑问时,学校可以简化查询流程,这可以让管理员卸下重担。

Seong Kil Kim 说道:“通过部署具有 DDoS 防护、负载均衡和 SSL 可视化等功能的多功能设备,我们简化了网络配置并降低了维护成本,让我们受益匪浅。”

Seong Kil Kim 还补充道:“使用一家供应商的整合解决方案意味着我们保留一份维护服务合同就可以,免去了与不同供应商签订许多独立合同的麻烦。在与供应商签订维护服务合同方面,这种做法可以将总成本削减 20%。”

CUSTOMER STORY | EDUCATION

Hansung University Improves Security Posture and Consolidates Network Equipment with F5

Hansung University logo
PRODUCTS

BENEFITS

Streamline security policy management

Boost application performance

Lower time and cost to manage the network

CHALLENGES

Limited functionality to deploy customized security policy

Low performance due to complexity of security solutions

Increase in operational cost and management burden

SHARE

Hansung University needed to improve their security posture and enhance the performance of applications during the course registration period due to the heavy traffic from thousands of students at the same time. By consolidating security solutions and network equipment with F5, the university protected itself from cyberattacks, provided a reliable end-user experience, lightened its operational workload, and reduced its maintenance costs by 20 percent.

By deploying multi-function equipment with the capabilities of DDoS protection, load balancing, and SSL visibility, we simplified the network and cut maintenance costs. It was a great help to us.

Business Challenges

Hansung University—an ‘Imagination Incubator’—was founded in 1972 and is located in the center of Seoul. By fostering self-management and interpersonal skills, Hansung University builds a culture of creativity and inclusivity. It also helps its students develop into citizens with strong communication abilities and global consciousness.

Hansung University needed to upgrade its security solutions with proactive protection against cyberattacks and improved flexibility with a customizable security policy.

“We aimed to be the top university in security posture, not only by upgrading our web application firewall (WAF), but also by deploying DDoS solutions in advance,” said Seong Kil Kim, leader of the Computing Center Information team at Hansung University. “Our previous WAF could not provide data transparency, which we needed to set up the proper security policy and ensure reliable user experience.”

In addition, the complexity of the network impacted the performance of the university’s applications, leading to increases in both the time and cost of network management. During the course of the busy registration period, server-based security solutions could not handle the massive traffic, causing a decline in performance. This resulted in the need for additional servers and escalated the cost of a scalable IT infrastructure.

“It was hard to figure out the root cause of the problems, due to the complexity of the security solution and the network. We needed to check every single piece of equipment whenever we faced a security or performance issue,” said Seong Kil Kim. “It was an extensive and very time-consuming task for administrators.”

The F5 solution provided data transparency. It helped to cut time by 50% to figure out problems and fix issues.

Solution

After having difficulties with the limited functionality of their existing WAF, Hansung University decided to look for a solution that could reduce the complexity of the network and deliver stable performance for reliable user experiences—while keeping maintenance costs low. During the search, they expanded the plan to implement a DDoS protection solution as well as an upgraded network solution.

The university sought vendors that could provide security and network solutions together to simplify the network and improve performance. “Only F5 could provide the level of data transparency which we requested,” said Seong Kil Kim. “We wanted to clearly see the transaction of data. We wanted to see how the WAF protects from cyberattacks to set up a customized security policy, but none of the other vendors could provide log information.”

Hansung University adopted BIG-IP Application Security Manager (ASM)—a comprehensive WAF—to protect them against attacks at the application layer and deliver SSL visibility, along with BIG-IP Local Traffic Manager for load balancing and smart traffic management.

The university also deployed BIG-IP Advanced Firewall Manager for application-centric protection, DDoS mitigation, and data security. Finally, they chose BIG-IQ Centralized Management to control all these solutions in a single window.

This new architecture, which uses a diverse set of F5 solutions transformed Hansung University’s IT infrastructure into a highly secure, manageable, and scalable platform.

Benefits

Hansung University deployed a flexible security solution with visibility into data flow, which lowered total maintenance costs by 20 percent and reduced time spent on operational management.

Strengthen security policy management

With the BIG-IP ASM module, Hansung University has the flexibility to deploy a customized security policy with enhanced efficiency of IT security governance. The solution offers extensive reporting features so that users can visualize data, such as attacks and operation status, and display graphical analysis showing the nature of attacks at any time. The IT team appreciates the ability to respond quickly when an anomaly is detected.

"Before implementation, we had to check every piece of equipment when we detected an anomaly, but now we can identify the problems quickly, because the F5 solution provides transparency of current data flow.”

Through the visibility provided by the F5 solution, Hansung University can resolve problems and fix issues with much less effort; it has helped to cut time to identify and fix issues by 50 percent, and enables the university to deliver a reliable user experience.

Improve application performance

Hansung University enhanced the performance of its course registration application during the course registration period through this consolidated security infrastructure. With the new, consolidated network, there was no longer a need to purchase an additional L4 switch for real-time attendance management. Existing infrastructure could support the concurrent massive data transactions without additional equipment. In addition, the F5 solutions can process resource-intensive SSL traffic in a centralized way, reducing the loads on the university’s web servers.

Reduce time and cost to manage the network

Using F5 solutions that consolidate their network helped Hansung University reduced administrative and operational tasks substantially and cut the cost of network management.

“Before the implementation of BIG-IP ASM, the server administrators had to upgrade more than 30 servers separately in order to attain SSL visibility,” said Seong Kil Kim “Now, only a one-time upgrade on BIG-IP ASM is required. The overall management time is cut by more than 50 percent, which is the greatest help to us.”

One of the key benefits of consolidating with F5 security and network solutions is that the university can streamline the inquiry process when there are problems or questions, which lightens the burden on the administrator.

“By deploying multi-function equipment with the capabilities of DDoS protection, load balancing, and SSL visibility, we simplified the network and cut maintenance costs,” said Seong Kil Kim. “It was a great help to us.”

In addition, “using a consolidated solution with one vendor means that we need to retain a single maintenance service contract instead of many separate contracts with various vendors,” said Seong Kil Kim. “That has helped us cut 20 percent of the total cost of our maintenance service contracts with vendors.”

Connect with F5

F5 Labs

The latest in application threat intelligence.

DevCentral

The F5 community for discussion forums and expert articles.

F5 Newsroom

News, F5 blogs, and more.