客户案例 | 医疗保健

在无损性能的情况下,MDV 部署检测、阻止嵌入 SSL 数据中的目标威胁

商标

收益

检测并阻止隐藏在 SSL 流中的威胁

在无损性能的情况下,对 SSL 数据进行删除和加密

加强骨干系统的安全性

有助于保持竞争优势

挑战

利用 SSL 检查增强主要的反威胁设备

在无损性能的情况下,对 SSL 数据进行删除和加密

  • Share via AddThis

Medical Data Vision (MDV) 的一项业务是让医疗保健行业能够利用临床大数据来彻底改变数据驱动的医学。为保护其系统和大量数据资产免受网络威胁,公司选择了在 F5® BIG-IP® 平台上运行 F5® SSL Orchestrator™ 以增强其主要的反威胁设备。该组合甚至可以检测和阻止 SSL 流中的混淆攻击,并且不会影响性能。目前,该部署已成为该公司业务基础架构的重要组成部分,有助于保持主要的竞争优势:竭力建立客户信任。

我们负责处理临床数据,因此安全是我们业务系统的支柱,我们必须密切关注数据的维护。有针对性的网络攻击威胁日益显著,迫使我们必须始终保持领先一步。因此我们决定部署一套系统,提供比以往更加强大的安全保障。

背景

有效利用临床数据是提高健康和医疗质量的关键。分析临床大数据有望推进新药的研发,帮助医生更好地诊断和治疗疾病,据估计,到 2025 年,该市场价值约 8000 亿元。而日本医疗行业面临的另一个问题是提高效率:有相当 70% 的医院和诊所处于亏损状态,这种情况因卫生部实施新的薪酬计划(称为日本诊断群分类综合评价/按日收费系统 (DCP/PDPS))而加剧,该计划旨在通过基于疾病和治疗而非传统的按次问诊支付计划支付固定费用,为保险公司向医疗服务提供者支付的费用设定上限。

MDV 成立于 2003 年 8 月,旨在帮助实现数据驱动的医学革命,通过数据网络服务和数据分析服务两大支柱类别来解决此类挑战。前者需要为诊所和医院提供业务系统,并收集匿名化的临床数据,而后者则对收集的数据进行分析并提供结果。为了展示其积极主动地进一步拓展将数据投入使用的业务决心,2016 年该公司还推出了一项名为 CADA-BOX 的监测解决方案,秉承“让治疗数据掌握在患者手中”的使命,让患者能够自行追踪部分医疗数据。

商业挑战

力求以这些方式将临床数据投入使用的企业还是凤毛麟角。截至 2017 年 11 月底,MDV 的数据库中包含了 2080 万名患者的数据,几乎令竞争对手无法超越。如此的成绩也让市场叹为观止,MDV 于 2016 年 11 月在东京证券交易所第一板块上市。

但所有这些成功都有助于彰显面临的一项重大业务挑战:加强和确保内部系统的安全性。高级经理兼 Sakura DB 部门主管 Yukihiro Watanabe 表示:“虽然数据已详细分析,我们负责处理临床数据,因此安全是我们业务系统的支柱,我们必须密切关注数据的维护。”他解释说,MDV 已通过了信息安全管理系统的认证,并建立了单点登录和其他防御措施,以确保防止未经授权的访问,他继续说道,“有针对性的网络攻击威胁日益显著,迫使我们必须始终保持领先一步。因此我们决定部署一套系统,提供比以往更加强大的安全保障。”

Watanabe 及其团队所研究的一项事业即如何可视化和阻止从公司内部受恶意软件感染的设备和服务器向攻击者的网站发送数据。MDV 部署了 FireEye NX 以解决此问题。但公司仍需要一项解决方案来处理复杂的问题:近期的目标攻击趋势是在 SSL 数据中隐藏有效负载,而解密和加密 SSL 流往往会对整体系统性能产生负面影响。

解决方案

为了应对 SSL 处理挑战,MDV 的 FireEye NX 部署合作伙伴 Tokyo Electron Devices (TED) 建议将 BIG-IP 平台与 FireEye NX 相结合,并运行 SSL Orchestrator 以解决 SSL 处理。MDV 决定这样做,将 BIG-IP 平台置于防火墙之前,并以在线模式运行。出站的 SSL 数据传输经过解密后传到 FireEye NX,经受检查,然后再次进行 SSL 加密后再发送。“使用 SSL Orchestrator 在 BIG-IP Centralized Management 上进行 SSL 处理,让我们能够可视化并阻止 SSL 流中蕴藏的威胁流量,而不必担心有损性能。”Watanabe 说道,“我们的另一个决定性因素是,F5 在 2015 年 10 月与 FireEye 合作,这让我们对于自己的选择更有信心。”

TED 完成了设备安装和设置工作,在部署之前,它在内部建立了验证平台,并验证了在实际环境中的正常运行。“TED 的工程师积极参与这项工作,他们的敬业精神表明他们将自己视为 MDV 的员工。现在系统已经开始运行,他们随时准备帮助我们解决可能出现的新问题。”Watanabe 说道。

“使用 SSL Orchestrator 在 BIG-IP Centralized Management 上进行 SSL 处理,让我们能够可视化并阻止 SSL 流中蕴藏的威胁流量,而不必担心有损性能。”Watanabe 说道,“我们的另一个决定性因素是,F5 在 2015 年 10 月与 FireEye 合作,这让我们对于自己的选择更有信心。”

收益

及早发现并应对具有针对性的攻击

FireEye NX 与 BIG-IP 平台上的 SSL Orchestrator 配对,可以快速检测命令和控制服务器 SSL 数据中的威胁,而这些威胁是单凭防火墙所无法捕捉到的。由于完全阻断有针对性的攻击几乎不可能,因此系统可以在下行数据中识别任何可能超越初始防御的恶意软件,从而可以尽早且及时地进行处理。而为了最大限度发挥这一优势,MDV 正在组织内部的计算机安全事件应对小组。

累积日志可在数字选择领域中加以利用

BIG-IP 应用可以获取和积累通信日志,并将其发送至外部管理系统。MDV 表示,未来当安全事件发生时,其可能会开始利用累积的日志数据进行数字选择。

加强问责和客户信任

能够及早且快速地应对目标攻击,有利于维护 MDV 与医院和诊所辛苦建立起来的信心和信任。“从业务发展和业务持续的角度来看,我们所部署的安全系统设置是 MDV 基础架构中不可或缺的一部分。”Watanabe 说道,“它通过增强我们和客户之间的信任,良性循环,以此为业务发展做出巨大贡献,这反过来也进一步增强了我们在数据方面的实力,因为客户会将更多数据委托给我们。”

CUSTOMER STORY | HEALTHCARE

MDV Deployment Detects, Blocks Targeted Threats Embedded in SSL Data without Sacrificing Performance

logo
PRODUCTS

BENEFITS

Detects and blocks threats hidden in SSL streams

De- and encrypts SSL data without sacrificing performance

Enhances security of backbone systems

Helps maintain competitive advantage

CHALLENGES

Augment primary anti-threat appliance with SSL inspection

De- and encrypt SSL data without sacrificing performance

  • Share via AddThis

One business of Medical Data Vision (MDV) is enabling the healthcare community to leverage clinical big data to revolutionize data-driven medicine. To protect its systems and massive data assets from cyberthreats, the company chose F5® SSL Orchestrator™ running on F5® BIG-IP® Platform to augment its primary anti-threat appliance. The combination detects and blocks even attacks obfuscated in SSL streams, and it does it without sacrificing performance. The deployment is now an essential element of the company’s business infrastructure and contributes to maintaining a major competitive advantage: the painstakingly built trust of customers.

We handle clinical data, so security is a backbone of our business systems and we have to focus intensely on maintaining it. The threat of targeted cyberattacks is an ever-growing one that forces us to always stay a step ahead. So we decided to deploy a system that would provide even more robust security than ever.

Background

Effectively leveraging clinical data is a critical to improving the quality of health and medical care. Analyzing clinical big data promises to advance the development of new drugs and help doctors diagnose and treat disease better, and estimates anticipate a market worth some ¥800 billion by 2025. Another issue Japan’s healthcare industry faces is enhancing efficiency: a good 70 percent of hospitals and clinics operate in the red, a situation exacerbated by the ministry of health’s implementation of a new remuneration scheme {known as Diagnosis Procedure Combination/Per-Diem Payment System (DCP/PDPS)} that seeks to cap payments from insurers to care providers by paying fixed fees based on ailment and treatment rather than the traditional payment-per-visit scheme.

Established in August 2003 to help bring about a data-driven revolution in medicine, MDV is in the business of addressing challenges like these through two pillar categories, data network services and data analysis services. The former entails providing business systems for clinics and hospitals and amassing anonymized clinical data, and the latter analyzes the collected data and provides the results. And demonstrating its commitment to working proactively to further expand the business of putting data to work, in 2016 the company also launched a monitoring solution called CADA-BOX that lets patients track some of their medical data themselves under the banner of “putting treatment data in the patient’s hands.”

Business Challenges

Enterprises that seek to put clinical data to work in these ways are still a rarity. MDV’s databases contained data on 20.8 million patients at the end of November 2017, a practically unsurpassable head start on competitors. Achievements like this are awing markets, too, and MDV was listed in the First Section of the Tokyo Stock Exchange in November 2016.

But all this success helped highlight a major business challenge: bolstering and ensuring the security of in-house systems. “Even though the data is anatomized, we handle clinical data, so security is a backbone of our business systems and we have to focus intensely on maintaining it,” says Senior Manager and Sakura DB Division Chief Yukihiro Watanabe. Explaining that MDV was already certified for information security management systems and had single sign-on and other defenses in place to ensure against unauthorized accesses, he continued: “The threat of targeted cyberattacks is an ever-growing one that forces us to always stay a step ahead. We decided to deploy a system that would provide even more robust security than ever.”

One of the things Watanabe and his team explored was ways to visualize and block data being sent to an attacker’s site from malware-infected devices and servers inside the company. MDV deployed FireEye NX to solve this. But the company still needed a solution to deal with a compound issue: a recent trend in targeted attacks is to hide payloads in SSL data, and decrypting and encrypting SSL streams tends to negatively impact overall system performance.

Solution

To address the SSL processing challenge, Tokyo Electron Devices (TED), MDV’s FireEye NX deployment partner, recommended combining BIG-IP platform with FireEye NX and running SSL Orchestrator to handle SSL processing. MDV decided to do so by situating BIG-IP platform ahead of its firewall and running it in in-line mode. Outbound SSL data transmissions are decrypted and passed to FireEye NX, inspected, and then SSL-encrypted again before being sent on their way. “Using SSL Orchestrator to do SSL processing on BIG-IP Centralized Management lets us visualize and block traffic from threats ensconced in SSL streams without having to worry about sacrificing performance,” says Watanabe. “Another deciding factor for us was that F5 partnered in October 2015 with FireEye, which gave us further confidence in our choice.”

TED did the equipment installation and set-up work, and before the deployment it built a validation platform in-house and verified proper operation in an actual physical environment. “TED’s engineers actively participated in the undertaking with dedication suggesting that they thought of themselves as MDV employees. And now that the system is up and running, they ready to help us resolve any new issues that might crop up,” says Watanabe.

Using SSL Orchestrator to do SSL processing on BIG-IP Centralized Management lets us visualize and block traffic from threats ensconced in SSL streams without having to worry about sacrificing performance,” says Watanabe. “Another deciding factor for us was that F5 partnered in October 2015 with FireEye, which gave us further confidence in our choice.

Benefits

Early detection of and responses to even targeted attacks

The pairing of FireEye NX with SSL Orchestrator on the BIG-IP platform enables rapid detection of threats in SSL data bound for command-and-control servers that the firewall alone could not catch. Since the total blocking of targeted attacks is close to impossible, the system can identify in downstream data any malware that may make it past initial defenses so it can be dealt with early and promptly. And to maximize on this benefit, MDV is organizing an in-house computer security incident response team.

Accumulated logs can be leveraged in digital foraging

The BIG-IP applications can acquire and amass communications logs and send them to external administration systems. MDV says that, down the road, it might start leveraging log data it has accumulated in digital foraging when security incidents occur.

Stronger accountability and customer trust

The ability to respond early and rapidly to targeted attacks in conducive to maintaining the confidence and trust that MDV has painstakingly built with hospitals and clinics: “The security system setup we’ve deployed is an indispensable part of MDV’s infrastructure from business-development and business-continuity perspectives as well,” says Watanabe. “It contributes significantly to growing business through a virtuous cycle by enhancing the trust between us and customers, which It contributes significantly to growing business through a virtuous cycle by enhancing the trust between us and customers, which in turn enhances our strength in data because customers entrust more of it to us.”

Connect with F5

F5 Labs

The latest in application threat intelligence.

DevCentral

The F5 community for discussion forums and expert articles.

F5 Newsroom

News, F5 blogs, and more.